Wednesday Walks on FriYAY?

in Photo-essay4 months ago

Good morning buzzers, Happy Friday! Has your weekend started, or do you have some more work to do today? I thought I would spice up this morning by sharing a walk I had the other day, it's supposed to be a Wednesday walk, but hey, a sloth walking and distance is a sight to be seen regardless of the day!

I took a little trip up the canal, exploring the sights and sounds of the Union canal waterways. It's always interesting to see how nature evolves around these structures. The canal was conceived to move minerals from the mines and quarries in Lanarkshire to Edinburgh. It had a very short-lived commercial use as railways took over. Canals are now popular with leisure users and canal boat dwellers.

Unfortunately, some boats don't stand the test of time and end up sinking, even when 'docked'! It's incredible to see such a boat, abandoned and left to sink! It's even wilder when you realise some of the boats before and after this sunken ship are still occupied by people living in them!

As always the doggo accompanied me on my adventures, I don't often get far without him! One of these days he'll even learn to walk nicely and come back when told!

I tried to get some more 'bird and twig' photos, but it hasn't been a very successful week. Here are some seagulls hopping around on the frozen water! It's not often the water here freezes so it's always a peculiar site!

I guess I should wrap this up about now, I've still a proper walk to go on this morning with the doggo, I best get moving or he won't forgive me! Until next time,

Sloth out!

Sort:  

Overcoming laziness is worth it when you get views like these. 😁
I was very sorry to see that ship sunk but I imagine that its owner could not maintain it.
Have an excellent weekend. 🤗

It's the walks like that that keep me buzzing and keep the sloth away.

Yes, I'm not entirely sure what happened with it, it may be a recent event that made it sink, but I'd imagine it will be removed at some point this year, probably when the weather is a little nicer.