You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why should you be hoarding coins?

in DiggnDeeper.com9 months ago

If only more people could realise just how valuable coins really are. Sadly though there are an increasing amount of small businesses going cashless, it seems many of them don't want for cash, which is so stupid. I think the current battle is retaining cash in all its forms, the coin and metals argument might have to be ancillary for now.

Sort:  

Not the guy who I take my car to. He loves cash and credit cards. If you pay with a credit card he'll charge you the fees the bank charges him. If you pay with a check he'll automatically assume it might bounce and add the fees to the bill he might get stuck with. You give him cash and he'll reduce your bill by whichever would have been your chosen method of payment if it had not been cash. He went to doing that after he made a deal to sell the shop to his grandson, I guess the grandson didn't want the cost associated with credit cards or bounced checks. Still I don't know how he can get away with charging people in anticipation of a bounced check without explicitly telling them that cost is included. I was just trying to avoid not paying with credit card because the fee is high, when he asked me on the phone if I'd be paying with cash, check or credit I told him if I got to the bank in time I'd be paying cash otherwise it'd have to be a check. I got there and he reduced the bill by fifty bucks. Weird, but I guess you have to do what you need to do to stay competitive in the market. He's pretty reasonably priced compared to a lot of others so I don't blame him for not wanting to take a chance on losses, it would only drive up the cost for others.