A throwback to My First Day In High School

in Hive Students Hub5 months ago
![]()

So friends, in reply to the prompt given by this community, I wrote about my high school crush, and part of it was where I said I got an unwelcoming attitude from him on my first day at school. So, let me take you back to my very first day at school, a day filled with excitement, nervousness, and a lot of new faces.

To begin with, I attended a high school not very far from where I live; it should be about a 10-minute walk, although it takes me 10 minutes because I don't walk very fast. I resumed in September 2016 during the 2016–2017 academic session. The name of the high school I attended is Gilford Memorial College, a well-known standard school in my area.

The school building was big and stood proudly, kind of like it was saying, "Welcome, students!" The air felt tense and excited at the same time because there were so many new students, all feeling a bit nervous. It was like the whole place was buzzing with the energy of everyone starting something new together. As I walked in, it felt like the beginning of an adventure, a mix of not knowing exactly what to expect but also feeling like anything could happen.

I was pretty excited to be in high school and nervous that I would see new faces as well, but the nervousness was nothing I couldn't handle. On that day, Mom dropped me in front of the school gate, and I had to find my way around. The principal's office was my first stop because he was the one to take me to my class. Locating the principal's office wasn't much of a big deal because I had been there two times for school entrance exams before officially resuming school, and I had no problem talking to people there because I was already familiar with them from my two visits.

The principal made things very easy for me. Before he called the supposed class prefect of the class to show me to the classroom, he took me to some teachers to introduce me to them as his big mummy, something I found really strange until he said I had the same name as his late mom. Still strange, though, because I was pretty sure there were a hundred students bearing the same name, but that's by the way.

After the introduction, he then called the class prefect, or rather Rude Boy, to take me to the classroom. Rude Boy because he was very sarcastic to me, and that was the first not-so-nice encounter I had on my first day.

As I got to the classroom, I was welcomed with both happy and questioning faces, but I didn't care if they welcomed me or not. Happy faces because some classmates were excited to have a new member; questioning faces because others were trying to confirm if I was really joining their class. But that was the least of my worries.

I simply met the form teacher and introduced myself. She, in turn, introduced me to other members of the class and made sure I was comfortable before leaving to attend a class that had her subject that morning.

As soon as she left, I was surrounded by what I tagged a "swarm of bees." Some members of the class wanted to know me really well because, judging by my surname, they assumed I had a sibling in the school, and their assumptions were right. They kept asking lots and tons of questions, and even though I wasn't much of a social person, I patiently answered their questions, but not without wondering what they needed the information for. I mean, why can't people just focus on their business?

Some others came as well to show me around the school compound and give me some heads-up on various subject teachers as well as their behavior and attitude toward students. One of the girls that came around by the name of Jessica Ogbugo offered to help me write some notes because I resumed on the 5th week, which means I had a lot of work to do.

I was glad I got a helping hand, not knowing that trouble was about to befall me. Apparently, I should have asked around before handing her my notebook to write for me, but I didn't. I was just excited that I got a hand. She went to the library to write the notes because it was a free period, and when she returned the note, I knew I had messed up big time.

First, we used long notebooks to write in school, and the one I bought had no margins. It was compulsory to make a straight line with a pen and a rule to serve as a margin, and she didn't do it. Second, her handwriting was nothing to write home about. I literally cried; she made a mess of my notebook, saying she wrote on it. I don't just know how to explain, but damn! Those were the worst handwriting I have ever seen in all my life. I was simply dumbfounded, and when she requested another notebook, all I did was mouth a thank you, and I could do the rest myself. I was quite annoyed because I had to tear off the pages she wrote on and begin all over again, but I learned my lessons as well.

The rest of the day went well; I met the toppers of the class, and we chatted about a few things. I also encountered some girls who attempted to assert themselves as the queen bees of the class, something I found very amusing. I mean, how can you mask your timidity and lack of intelligence by bullying or trying to control other students? I consider that behavior foolish, and I didn't flinch at their sight.

Then there were the cool guys in our class, the really smart, good-looking ones, and the rude boy who didn't mind breaking the rules fell into that group. They had this confident vibe that made everyone notice them. It was like they had a mix of being really smart, good-looking, and a bit rebellious. When they walked into the room, you couldn't help but look. The class felt different with them around, adding a kind of coolness that made us all curious and maybe a little nervous.

Things went great until dismissal; there was no drama, and everyone learned and interacted. And as the first day at Gilford Memorial College came to an end, I thought about the good and not-so-good moments, the new friends I made, and what I learned. High school had started with its mix of funny and interesting people, and I didn't realize it was just the start of a wild ride that would shape how I experienced school.

What was your first day at school ? lets interact😁

Sort:  

Congratulations @ngobaby! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 1500 comments.
Your next target is to reach 2000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the November PUM Winners
Feedback from the December Hive Power Up Day

First day in school is always kind of boring but seems yours is all different, the principal honored you for having same name as his mom.

It was boring at all for me, apart from the unwelcoming attitude I recieved from some classmates, It was fun. And I already knew some of my classmates then and some other school mates too.