Remembering Tom Wade

in THE 2000s4 years ago

Thomas Neil Wade was able to make me laugh. Somehow, Tom would take the time to get to know me, to ask me questions to understand the kind of individual that I was.

My Autobiography

1900's | 1980's | 1990's | 2000's | 2000's | 2010's | 2020's

Thomas-Wade-1439619451.jpg

Tribute Wall

2010's

2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018 | 2019 | 2020

2020

01 | 02 | 03 | 04 | 05 | 06 | 07 | 08 | 09 | 10 | 11 | 12

Thomas Neil Wade.jpg

Rest In Peace (RIP) - Thomas Neil Wade - February 6, 1946 - August 12, 2015

By Oatmeal Joey Arnold

Join My Community | @OatmealJoey | @OatmealEnglish | @OatmealHealth | @JoeyArnoldVN
Contact Me | Published in March of 2020

He was very good at making jokes and getting along with people at the Word of Life Inn, 2004-2006, which were the years I was working there as a student of the New York Word of Life Bible Institute (WOLBI NY), which is a two year Bible college. I would work in the kitchen and mostly in maintenance at their Inn. Specifically, he was my boss, possibly just my first year in New York from 2004-2005 and yet I probably still saw him on and off in 2005-2006 as well. We did have different managers there as time went on and especially towards and during my second year.

My Boss' Boss

When I say that he was my boss, I mean more like my boss' boss kind of thing. But we would have lunch together as Inn staff at times. So, I was sometimes sitting near him. He would see me reading or writing sometimes and ask me what I was doing. He was kind of silly with staff and people really loved him for it.

2015-08-12 - Tom died - according to Post Star - at the age of 69. Mr. Wade was a public school administrator in the state of Michigan after graduating from Ohio Northern University and Eastern Michigan University. Upon retirement, he and his wife moved to upstate New York to be near their two daughters. He was a devoted father to Wendy Deshetsky (Ralph and children, Drew and Molly) and Kelly Eger (Tim). He was a servant leader at the Word of Life Inn and spread joy and laughter to all he met. I was generally only at the Inn on Mondays during those two school years, except for a few times when I was living and working there a few times, like during a few school breaks. During those times, we especially worked hard on many things.

Tom took the time to get to know me as I worked at the Inn as a WOLBI student, 2004-2006, would make us all laugh. He was so good at understanding individuals.

Sort:  

Congratulations @joeyarnoldvn! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Downvote challenge - Add up to 3 funny badges to your board
Use your witness votes and get the Community Badge

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!