My Unforeseen Rendezvous with a Hidden Park

in Nature Lovers2 months ago

01.jpg


Parks and their relative green spaces are one of the best gifts a progressive metropolis can offer to its citizens. Aren't they?

Why? Simply because they are literally the living and breathing lungs of a city, providing a constant supply of oxygen to its human population including the majority of animals that live under its care.

There's a symbiotic relationship involved, specifically between people and animals to the plants, trees, and foliage surrounding them. We inhale oxygen and exhale carbon dioxide while our green friends do the opposite for photosynthesis. This natural process has been going on for millions of generations, and is the very reason why our planet has thrived since time immemorial. Now you see why this ecological balance is crucial for our survival?

The Philippine city of Cebu in particular is blessed with a handful of parks (Oh, how I wish it had more!), and pockets of green environments. If you'll take a leisurely drive or publicly commute around this urban center, you’ll witness a substantial number of green areas, quite visible with the naked eye from its bustling thoroughfares. In fact, I had the initial impression that all its natural habitats were directly observable from the various public streets. Yet, I was mistaken…

One day, while traveling northwards, I noticed what appeared to be a small gated community with an uphill terrain from the roadside. You see, Cebu City is also known to be the home of several housing developments that are scattered all throughout its landmass. They are locally referred to as residential subdivisions.

And since I had extra time to spare, my unstoppable curiosity led me to further investigate this new landmark which I've never seen before.

Upon entering its wide entry gates, I immediately learned that it wasn't a residential community after all but rather another park! Yet unlike other green spaces within the city, it was clearly concealed from the main street view. Isn't that interesting?

This man-made green environment was under the administration of the local water supply company and consisted of a whopping 20 hectares of natural and forested land, exercise facilities, plus some recreational infrastructures.

“I must see and experience this place as I've never heard of this park before.” I pondered as I paid the required entrance tickets for full access to this special compound.

And lo and behold, as I sunk deeper into this park’s inner world, I was eventually welcomed by a refreshing embrace of soaring trees that almost reached the skies, lush shrubs, bushes, plants, and foliage of various colors and sizes, including wide roads, walkways, and pathways that magnetized me to move further inward.

Surrounded by a number of small hills, the entire complex was humongous! It would probably take several hours to walk there and explore everything.

02.jpg

Afterwards, I was greeted by a massive open space that was converted into the park’s main playground in addition to the soccer field that was also embedded in it.

From where I was standing, I've nearly observed people from all walks of life playing, strolling, jogging, camping, picnicking, or merely lingering in one spot , enjoying their relaxing moments. However, as far as my eyes could see, there seemed to be more interesting activities up ahead.

03.jpg

04.jpg

05.jpg

On the way there, I had to walk under the dense canopy of locally grown trees of diverse varieties. The shade that these towering giants provided plus the gentle breeze that cooled the surroundings were definitely enough to stimulate my unexpected adventure there. I was fortunate to not have caught the rain or else I would have walked on muddy soil and slippery grounds.

06.jpg

Furthermore, I was incredibly astonished at what was revealed next - an artificial lake!

07.jpg

08.jpg

09.jpg

Though I sincerely admired the park’s incorporation of an aquatic feature such as a fabricated lake, my smile transformed into a frown upon witnessing the lack of maintenance for the said amenity. At least I saw a lone spotted white duck that drove my worries of the day away.

10.jpg

11.jpg

The same disappointment held true for the nearby swimming pools, marine equipment, food stalls, and supporting structures. Or probably bad timing? I must have arrived during the wrong occasion when their park architecture was under the process of renovation. Perhaps.

12.jpg

13.jpg

14.jpg

Nevertheless, despite the lack of proper maintenance for their wonderful facilities, I was really impressed by their strategic decision of developing an enormous green attraction within Cebu City, enhancing the much-needed criteria for more breathable and livable environments for a better quality of life.

15.jpg

Have you visited this hidden park already? What have you discovered?



About the Author

SOE AUTHOR BIO FOOTER.jpg

Architect | Environmentalist | Adventurer
Creator of the Architecture+Design Community on the Hive Blockchain

Copyright © 2020-2024 storiesoferne. All rights reserved.

Sort:  

Hi @storiesoferne, what a beautiful mountain landscape the park has, it is perfect to enjoy the contact with nature, in the city where I live in the center there is a park called Guaiquerí, it has exercise machines, spaces for events, many trees and part of its land is crossed by the Manzanares River.

The Cebu park has a beautiful design, it is a shame that the lake is like this, I hope that in the near future it will be cleaned and it will regain its attractiveness, the location in mountainous areas is spectacular.

Greetings and blessings!

Hello @belkyscabrera. Our featured park is absolutely a beautiful environment. With only a few tweaks of architectural improvement, modifications, and maintenance, this green space would surely resurrect back to its former glory. And it's only a matter of time.

Moreover, I'm truly delighted that your home city is bestowed with a gorgeous park complete with most of the facilities one would dream of. The passage of the Manzanares River is clearly a huge advantage since it's purely a natural element that provides refreshing experiences for park visitors. Have an enjoyable week! 😊

Hello, @storiesoferne
Those landmarks look similar to the areas around where I live. I'm happy to see that. Thank you for sharing.

Definitely @sobatkelana. With the Philippines and Indonesia belonging to the same tropical region, our park architecture would fairly be similar in context. It's always a great pleasure to promote nature's benefits for humanity's continuous development 😊

What a beautiful place, in my city a lot of attention is also paid to green spaces, and there are many trees and parks. I love places like that.

Greetings @jordy0827. Exactly, cities around the world must ideally invest in their park projects for the betterment of their citizens' well-being. Without a doubt, Mother Nature will always be the ultimate source of genuine healthcare. Many thanks for the appreciation! 😊

~~~ embed:1760348641175417219?t=eKmMaFJF1wTx1vCY2BacSQ&s=19 twitter metadata:c3Rvcmllc29mZXJuZXx8aHR0cHM6Ly90d2l0dGVyLmNvbS9zdG9yaWVzb2Zlcm5lL3N0YXR1cy8xNzYwMzQ4NjQxMTc1NDE3MjE5fA== ~~~