A walk around Riverside Bridge

in Liketu11 months ago



cli17yfyr01gcbdsz5jgh4ttt_IMG_3468.webp
I love the view of this hill from the river here. I often sit in this area for coffee in the mornings or afternoon. In February, when these photos were taken, there's a lot more red to it than at this time of year.
cli17yoe701dg3xszavo3cfez_IMG_3472.webp
This little bridge is all that remains from the railroad when it ran along the river.
cli17ys0901et0isz966w7r4e_IMG_3464.webp
Riverside Bridge is a vertical-lift bridge, which means the entire span of road between the two towers lifts up to allow boats to pass.
cli17yw1001ey3ksz1eukgah0_IMG_3424.webp
cli17yux001c8b3szag7zeapz_IMG_3475.webp
The tug boats Wynema Spirit, Lulapin, and another I don't know the name of. Click the link in this post to see the first two in action, bringing a ship in to port on the bay of Grays Harbor.
cli17yhjo01at7rszfdso5o6g_IMG_3481.webp
cli17ymfq01c697szhrt85kh4_IMG_34901.webp
Get it? The clouds make a 'C', like in 'Cliff'. :)

While cleaning up my hard drive today, uploading photos to the Lightroom cloud so I could delete them from the computer, I came across these from a walk I took back around Valentine's Day in 2022.

I'm not sure why I didn't share more of these back then. Probably because with the difficulty in shooting on such a bright and sunny day I ended up with some overexposed and/or dark photos, and I didn't feel, back then, that I could salvage anything out of them. But I've learned a little bit about editing since then, so I decided to see what I could make of them before I saved them and forgot about them.

These were all taken within a two block area on either side of Hoquiam, Wash.'s, iconic Riverside Bridge (it's used in a lot of the city's promotional materials). The bridge is a vertical-lift bridge, which means that the entire road span between the towers lifts up as one piece. I have a few photos of the bridge in action, um, somewhere...

The tug boat shots were taken from the bridge. If you'd like to see the tugs working, see this post showing the Lulapin and Wynema Spirit bringing a ship into the Port of Grays Harbor, which I posted last week.

Thanks for viewing!


For the best experience view this post on Liketu

Sort:  

I grew up along the Columbia River and miss seeing the tugboats ushering barges up and down the river. I used to know the names of the tugboats, but that was years ago, and I question whether any of those are still in use today.

I like to see them moving the barges or big boats, but I also just like seeing them move by themselves. It's really impressive when they are on the river, I guess because they are so big and heavy, they really make waves. You might be surprised how long tugboats last: one of the tugs here in Hoquiam, the Mary Rose Brusco, was built in 1966!

That's interesting! I wonder how I could find out the names of the tugboats currently in use on the Columbia River? I'll have to look into that.

Congratulations @cliffagreen! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 96000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 97000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - June 1st 2023