Testing out my new zoom lens

in Liketulast year



clhu6dap300xn0psz47kjfrqn_IMG_7063.webp
Seagull at the top of the PS&P swing bridge in the Hoquiam River.
clhu6dfsv00yn0xsz2t6gf6d4_IMG_7067.webp
Just a duck, but I think it's sitting on a nest!
clhu6dfn800xz2usz0mogfgdk_IMG_7080.webp
This is all the way across the bay (of course I had to find the limits of the zoom). I think this is some type of hawk sitting on the top of the piling.
clhu6dl3e00v87rszfpfk5fib_IMG_7098.webp
I think these are some kind of albatross.
clhu6do9u00we8dsze20yazrw_IMG_7114.webp
No idea who these folks are, but their dog is gorgeous, yeah?

I was pretty excited today to get out and test my new Canon 75-300mm zoom lens, which I'm using on my Canon EOS 80D.

I've been using a basic 18-55mm zoom lens for all of my photography ... and constantly finding myself frustrated by my inability to do any real wildlife photography. 55mm just doesn't get me close enough; by the time I do get close enough to focus, I've disturbed whatever I'm trying to photograph, and it is either running or flying away from me.

The new lens was made for a full frame camera, and the 80D is a DSLR, so I'm getting an even stronger zoom capability than 300mm.

It gets me plenty close enough to subjects that are far away (they'll never know I'm there!). I'll have to practice a bit and make adjustments to the composing I've been doing ... but these first few practice shots really gave me a taste of what is possible with the new lens.

It even works for close subjects, like in the last photo of this series, at 75mm.

Anyway, I'm more than thrilled and wanted to share these first few shots.


For the best experience view this post on Liketu

Sort:  

I love the bokeh that you can get out of a longer-reaching lens at close range. It's always a pleasant surprise to go home and find the lovely close up shots turned out as well, if not better, than the far away ones.

That was exactly my experience yesterday. The dog photo was the best one I thought. Do you use a tripod with the longer zoom lens? I don't think I'm going to be able to go without ... I can't hold it still, even though it really isn't that big!

I almost never carry my tripod with me unless it's an event of some sort. I did end up getting one of those Cotton carriers, though so I can strap my camera to my chest without all the weight hanging from a single strap around my neck.

Congratulations @cliffagreen! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 95000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 96000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

At the beach in Ocean Shores, Wash., 12/2024

IMG_9466.jpg