Ritual purification and sacrifice

in Liketu2 months ago



cltetb7lj002koeszdqkafk9z_t20240124_202922.webp

A common thread in many relgions are purification rituals involving self-deprivation and sacrifice. Thaipusam is a Tamil religious festival that honours the occasion when Goddess Parvati gave Lord Murugan the Vel "divine spear" to vanquish the evil demon Soorapadman. The Vel was said to be made from five metals, and so has purifying properties.
I was in Penang for Thaipusam and decided to see for myself when I met a former student in Kuala Lumpur who was preparing for the festival. Many devotees subject themselves to 48 days of deprivation and ritual preparation.
It was a night of colour, darkness and light, with people hanging bells from their skin and carrying heavy religious objects. For miles along the street were booths for devotees erected by sponsors, with plenty of places giving away free food and water. Oh, and the noise - I will take earplugs next time.
I've met religious devotees of different types before; Christian pilgrims, Hari-krishna dancers, the thai bad-boy completing a self-set task to mark the end of his previous life and a commitment to becoming a better person, Muslims preparing for the Haj. But, I had never seen so many devotees all in the same place. Where we might see a pointless (ha!) infliction of pain upon oneself with heavy loads, hooks and piercings - I've come to understand the transformational importance of self-imposed burdens.
I selected this image as it should a devotee early getting ready outside a booth. The complementary colours of purple and yellow challenge thinking of things as false dualities.
I met a former health official often during my Penang stay. He told me about the preparations to run a safe festival. Banning alcohol - and the politics around that. Recycling, policing and proper disposal of ritual cow's milk because pouring into street gutters would result in rotting milk smells and fatbergs!


For the best experience view this post on Liketu

Sort:  

When you say that you have never seen so many devotees, I remember some pastors, they have so much charisma and power of word that some people do what they say, I respect people, but this is stupid

This is 48 days of preparation, so it is totally an individual choice. I guess, like getting drunk, you can decide before going in to accept it. At the festival, I did let my mind go for a few minutes. I'm vary of those kinds of pastors, too, though this was something different.

Such events that happen are very special and it is a great pleasure to visit here and watch the broadcasts and because of your post we also know about your country and about such events. Our knowledge has also increased a lot.

Damn!
What kind of religion is this?
Also, I’m very sure the guy is feeling pains with the pin on his face

Hindu religion, specifically the Tamil people. While I haven't done piercings myself, when I experienced pain it does numb into the background. There were devotees wearing bells hooked onto their skin at such density it looked like a puffy coat.


His upper body covered in bells hooked onto his skin. His cheeks and lips pierced so his friend gives him water.

That looks painful, all those pins on his face.

I think that's the point: numb yourself with pain - go into a trance.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!