I will never lose my own will

in Liketulast year



cle40vbel00hf92szaqps9edt_Skipper.webp
cle40vfrk00f6a8szalmd6bjq_2022-10-06_2.webp
cle40viqh00gv15sz4jc7bhg3_3W72119s5BjW4PvRk9nXBzqrPWMsMTjNrXDPFFf11q3mRxwXjActzccegNy7cw4sz9VvyEA6WFQQjqHyK7pqjuFRywMkgnT7GyoyLGd6efc8C9aJXYRkrJ.webp
cle40vwfr00g53xsz5ae7d39n_2022-10-06_1.webp
cle40w1zg00gh4nsz03kda7dp_2022-10-06_3.webp
cle40wem400hb2usz69453xge_2022-10-06.webp
cle40xbql00hx7zsz7omxap4k_IMG_20220611_123748067_HDR.webp
cle40xhsu00h15qsz0xr4avde_IMG_20221202_092110233.webp
cle40xra600h58gszgxw81dme_IMG_20221208_160653011_MF_PORTRAIT.webp

So much to woof, and so little time!

Woof-woof! It's been a long time since we've woofed. Seriously, unbelievable. But believe me, there was just so much to do that we didn't have time to woof at all. And actually that's only good, right? But now something happened that I just couldn't let pass without woof my story to you.

I'm a tough dog!

You should know, as a German Shepherd I am one of the toughest and most intelligent dog breeds in the world. I love the outdoors, exploring new places and being with my boss and lady boss. Meeting new friends is not that high on my wish list, I actually bark away at everything and everyone from a distance. And if they want to get close to me, then I'm not afraid to tell them in their face that I don't trust them yet. During our morning walks in the woods, I always enjoy taking in all the new scents. On the way to the forest, in those little 5 minutes it's great fun to scare the occasional passerby we meet with a good bark and pull on my leash, and my hobby is to try to chase cars. Great, I always win. They always drive away from me, which just gives me a good feeling, I personally chase them all away! It is an important part of my personality and my daily routine. It makes me feel like I can take on the world and nothing can stop me.

Something changed, and I don't like it

But now my lady-boss has really taken a different look at my routine. So yesterday, while I was sticking my nose in the wind with enthusiasm and my lady-boss was holding me on the leash, she suddenly had this stupid thing in her hands. She calls that thing a Halti! A piece of cloth that goes around my snout and is attached to the leash. With a padded strap that goes over my muzzle because that would be softer for me. I looked at my lady boss with a confused look. What? Do I suddenly have to do this with walking? I mean, we've played and practiced in the yard with that stupid thing many times, and that's about it. I get nice kibble when I have it on. But in the garden is different! No one sees me there, and I know there won't be any stupid strange dogs, cyclists, walkers or cars in the yard. Why should I wear this on the street now? I felt like a bull ready to be led into the arena.

I need to be trained to get more attentive?

My lady boss told me that the Halti was meant to train me, to help me be less focused on my surroundings and more attentive to her. It would help me to react better, and to stay calmer. Uhm what the woof, seriously? Are you serious? Calmer? I was really not convinced about this. I want to be free to do what I want and to enjoy my walks without any restrictions. How can I do that with that thing on my snout!

This is not right!

As we continued walking, I quickly realized something wasn't right. I couldn't pull the leash as hard as I wanted to. And that meant my lady-boss doesn't have to run after me anymore! Oh woof! Serious! How can my lady-boss keep track of her fitness if I can no longer pull hard on the leash? I mean, that's the purpose of a morning walk, right? Go jogging together. My goodness, how are we going to do this again? I feel robbed of my freedom. This is really not fair at all.

I sounded like a squeaky toy!

I tried to bark but, and I'm just embarrassed to practice it here, with the Halti on my muzzle I sounded like a squeaky toy. It was horrible! It's not fair that I can't lash out at passersby and other dogs anymore, or chasing cars also seems to be a thing of the past. It's not fair that I can't pull as hard as I want anymore. It's not fair that I can't just do what I want anymore. That way I can't be who I am, a tough, independent German Shepherd.

Alright, this time we play her game

Now, to be honest, I also have to admit that my lady-boss did have some tasty kibble with her, and every time I looked at her I got some. Hmm, Maybe I can tolerate this Halti if it comes with some goodies? Maybe I can wear this stupid Halti for the rewards? And what also struck me was that Lady-boss didn't do anything with that Halti, she just held the line. If I just stood quietly next to her, I actually didn't even feel the thing. And even though this stupid thing was on my snout, when I stood still I could just bark, I could just take the kibble, I actually knew that too, but I forgot for a while. I decided to try, this time we would play her game.

Holy woof, my lady-boss was really in control

But it wasn't easy. We came across a dog that I wanted to run and bark towards. But that joke doesn't go through. Ow woof, that stupid Halti gave my Lady-boss a lot of control. I'm not used to this. I'm never allowed to fly towards it, but normally it takes more effort for her to stop me and I'm more likely to get that adrenaline flowing through my body. Just keep barking and that all failed now. With only 1 finger she could just hold me with her. Um, come on! 1 finger! That makes no sense at all. She didn't even have to work for it! I didn't understand this anymore, so I sat on my ass in a daze. And I got a piece for that too. Do you still understand?

I will never lose my own will

Lady-boss has promised me that if I learn to walk nicely and listen carefully, I won't have to wear that thing anymore. Do I smell an attempted bribe here? To keep the peace with my Lady-boss, and because I also like to see her happy, I've decided to wear this Halti, but only for now. Maybe we're going to find a way where we can both have what we want? Because in the end I know that I am a German Shepherd and that I will never lose my own will. I want to be free to bark, jump, chase and run.

All photos taken by my Lady-boss @hetty-rowan


For the best experience view this post on Liketu

Sort:  

lolol boss-lady trying to trick him! what a lovely, lovely animal! germans are some of the most work driven dogs i've ever been around and loyal above all things. really really majestic dogs. great story!

Thank you! This comment is very much appreciwoofed, I'll show this to my Lady-boss so she comes to underwoof that it's so not done to put the halti on my muzzle.

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @bhattg by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

Congratulations @foreverhero! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 1250 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - February 15, 2023
Valentine's Day Challenge - Give a badge to your beloved!
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!