This Heat Is Brutal on the Gubba Homestead

in Liketu2 years ago



cl79rc5o700lv24m70mnl578g_1.webp
cl79rc84600m00om7eclk2jaw_2.webp
cl79rcaje00mr0vm77jxffpq3_3.webp
cl79rccs600lq1gm72muo87n2_4.webp
cl79rcfni00lr0hm7gkq9dn82_5.webp
cl79rchs500m02nm7geli0iib_6.webp

It's been so hot here lately here on the Gubba Homestead. Much of the grass has died and turned brown, the crops are wilting and multiple times a day I'm out checking on the animals to be sure they have water and are keeping cool.

One of the areas I've seen hit hardest has been the garden. It's not much of a garden this year, I admit it got away from me as life threw many curve balls. Next year however I'm set to have a plan in place and grow a thriving garden that feeds me and the animals here on the homestead. Right now I work with a farm share and much of that goes to my chickens lol

Luckily for me I was able to harvest my garlic a few weeks before all of this heat kicked in. I included a picture of the raspberry bushes which shows before and after of the heat damage on the crop. Currently I'm growing and harvesting blackberries, raspberries, garlic, some greens I had forgotten I planted and cherries from the tree. As you can see I often end up using my shirt to harvest lol I enjoy spending nights out here on the homestead just taking it all in, walking around watching the sunset while picking off cherries, raspberries and blackberries while enjoying the sounds and views.

Next year the garden will be expanding. I have plans to build a few more raised garden beds and compost them during the winter to get them ready. MOO my cow actully provides great fertilizer as well as my chickens and their bedding all things I can put into the garden over winter to bring nutrients back I have some ideas of what I want to grow in these new raised beds but I'd love to hear from other gardeners here on hive on what crops they enjoy growing the most.
Let me know in the comments what you're growing or would like to grow.


For the best experience view this post on Liketu

Sort:  

We really feel the drastic change in climate obviously, but the photos you've posted are arresting shoots!

Es hermoso todo ese ambiente!.. Se disfruta mucho así.

Gracias, tuvimos una tormenta loca anoche, solo algo más para agregar a la ola de calor súper caliente que hemos estado teniendo.

Sí, por lo que veo el clima anda bastante loco en todas partes. Acá en la mañana hacía demasiado calor, y en la noche la lluvia torrencial.

Which part of the world are you in?

Here we are experiencing a cold season ,I also grow a small vegetables garden around my house , but it's not much , cause the goats from the streets keeps entering and eating up the little vegetables on it.

These days have been very hot. What an incredible place.

¡Guao! Todas tus fotos son hermosas y ese lugar transmite mucha paz 😍

Nice pictures, nice leopard t-shirt, that looks coo.

You can do a lot with raised beds :) ... Maybe squash, cabbages, strawberries, lettuce, and tomatoes?

As for feeding chickens, you might want a nice patch of chickweed - AWAY from the garden!!!

!LUV

$WINE

Thank you!


Congratulations, @theguruasia You Successfully Shared 0.200 WINEX With @gubbahomestead.
You Earned 0.200 WINEX As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 2/4 Successful Calls.

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINEX Token Discord Channel
WINEX Current Market Price : 0.181


Swap Your Hive <=> Swap.Hive With Industry Lowest Fee (0.1%) : Click This Link
Read Latest Updates Or Contact Us

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Uff sorry bout that. Proper portable sun protection might be a thing for next year. It might be enough to put some milky foil and a few sticks together to provide shadow for the hottest days. My grandfather used to do that for his tomatoes in summers.

Congratulations @gubbahomestead! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 1750 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 2000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Es increíble todo lo que nos muestras y las fotografías son realmente espectaculares. La verdad es que provoca estar allí rodeada de la naturaleza y de un hermoso y sorprendente paisaje. Te felicito, es una bendición poder disfrutar de ello a diario. No dejes de compartir tus increíbles publicaciones 😉🤗