It is the First Day of the Lunar New Year!

in Liketulast year (edited)



cld7f9axb00hm12szhaww8xv5_IMG_20230122_184230_233.webp
cld7f99px00jaalszblwc0cq1_BeautyPlus_20230122153400232_save.webp
cld7f9euo00ha62sz1ywid7x5_IMG-20230122-WA0044.webp
cld7f9jax00io4kszhx85hy7g_BeautyPlus_20230122153636187_save.webp
cld7f9pot00jj2rszb8wvgqop_BeautyPlus_20230122114329489_save.webp
cld7f9uj400hb3jsz44tm9gi4_20230122_104129.webp
cld7fa11y00fu7dszb5rq374p_20230122_104122.webp
cld7fa4gn00io0isz1t4e9cei_20230122_104111.webp
cld7faaww00h42jsz3n1m4xcu_20230122_162423.webp
cld7fafog00hj7zszdudjhfqt_20230122_162436.webp

Chinese New Year or also known as the Lunar New Year begins today! The Chinese race celebrate it for 15 days (or more accurately 16 days because we started the celebration from Chinese New Year Eve) as the beginning of a new calendar year.

My family celebrate it as well. We started gathering and having reunion on the eve and it can extend all the way to Chap Goh Meh which is the 15th day of the celebrations. There will be lots of eating and some customs such as gifting as well as giving out red packets and speaking well wishes to one another.

Also there is a tradition where we will wear new clothes during Chinese New Year and we tend to wear brighter colours though now I guess many won't mind darker colours as well. We visit our relatives to catch up with them during this yearly occasion.

The first day of Chinese New Year or also known as Chor Yat falls on a Sunday this year. My family started the day with attending the usual Sunday Praise Celebration in church. Many have gone back to their respective homes for their reunion with their family so there were not many people in church. Still, I noticed my sister-in-law, my mum-in-law and another pastor were all wearing cheongsam dress or top which I too like to wear it during Chinese New Year especially thw first day. I really like cheongsam dress or tops with Chinese collar designs. This year round, I chose mint green to be my family's theme colour. So my husband and the two boys also have their mint green Chinese attires.

After church, we went for lunch with some friends who came for church. We ate at a Peranakan Place restaurant which is newly opened and the food was fantabulous! My son's gobbled up their lunch really fast and that is a clear sign they approve the food there! Definitely going back for more. After lunch, I remember that the mall we were at has some nice Chinese New Year decorations so I suggested that we take some photos there especially some family portraits for Chinese New Year. Free backgrounds, so why not? So that's where we took all the family photos with the red backgrounds.

After we were done, then we proceeded to my mum-in-law's brother's homestay. They are homesitting for a friend so it was really convenient for us to gather there. With some chit chats and laughters among the adults and also the children, time passed really fast. Before we parted from each other, red packets were given to the children and we remembered to take a big group photo, though this year without my husband's maternal grandma who has graduated back to heaven last year.

Chinese new year is really one of my favorite times of the year because we get to meet people and also to observe some good traditions to be passed down to our younger generations. I mean if we don't preserve this heritage, it will be gone. So I treasure all these a lot.


For the best experience view this post on Liketu

Sort:  

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Happy Chinese Year!

What a cute family! Look at those smiles. Stay blessed and wish y'all a lucky and wonderful year.

!PIZZA

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@idksamad78699(4/5) tipped @happycrazycon (x1)

Join us in Discord!

Gong Xi Fa Cai 😁😁

Happy New Year 😊❤️

I'm sending this out to my family.

My grandmother was half Chinese and my mom and her sister were born in Shanghai!

They'll love this.

And my children. They should know more about our heritage.

Awesome 💥

Best wishes 🙏
Beautiful people ❤️

恭喜发财。新年快乐。

Same to you, 新年快乐! 兔年安康!