I spotted a little bee and asked ChatGPT about it. Here's what it told me!

in Liketulast year



clfaxxwcc00bx13sz4rwi3v5v_image00002.webp
clfaxzibt00b398sz2bpp12hb_image00001.webp
clfaxxb6n00ax7asz8l7u6576_image00003.webp
clfaxxgpd00ay9isz7gwv2se3_image00004.webp
clfaxzavn00c14csz0fzhaat5_image00005.webp
clfaxyq1500cc7jsz9uk4b6dl_image00006.webp
clfaxz54z00cd0isz1ywkayst_image00007.webp
clfaxyh5100ctapszap0vaeo0_image00008.webp
clfaxy49y00cd8qsz2mg5dln0_image00009.webp
clfaxyz4300cc2nszb099gy9a_image00010.webp

Hello friends!
You probably already know my love for nature and its creatures.
I take their photos, and when possible I learn and write about them too!
Today I saw outside of my home a very small, tiny you could say bee. I thought it may be a baby, but it had pollen (and lots of it) on its legs.
When I went to bring my macro lens and to take a more clear shot, my cat went nearby and scared the little bee away.
But then I thought to take a short experiment.

Why not ask ChatGTP about it? Let's see what it will answer.

And lets try something else; Let's try the new Bing search engine, that has ChatGPT incorporated!
To get access to the new Bing, you should visit https://www.bing.com/new - ask to get in the waiting list and I assure you that in a few minutes you will get the green light into your email! You will just need to use bing from edge.

Let's check out what I asked from them both and what answers I got.

I asked ChatGPT

I spotted a very small bee, with pollen on its legs. could it be a baby bee?

And this is the answer I got

It's unlikely that you spotted a "baby bee" since bees do not go through a separate life stage as babies before becoming adults. The small bee you saw could be a newly emerged adult bee, which would be smaller in size compared to older adult bees. Newly emerged bees are also typically covered in a thin layer of hair, which can sometimes make them appear fuzzier or fluffier than older bees.

I did not have the chance to take a much closer look, but I think that this one did look fluffier

The pollen on its legs is a good indicator that the bee is an adult worker bee. Worker bees collect pollen and nectar from flowers to bring back to the hive as food for the colony. They use their specialized legs to collect and transport the pollen, which they store in specialized structures called pollen baskets or corbiculae located on their hind legs. So, the bee you spotted with pollen on its legs is most likely an adult worker bee that has been out collecting nectar and pollen from flowers.

Fair enough. I learned enough to have my own opinion about what I saw a few minutes before.

Now let's go ask Bing and see what we will get as a response!

At Bing, when you start a new topic you can choose if your response should be creative/balanced/precise

This is the response I got from Bing, to the same question (choosing balanced)

Bees carry pollen in order to transport it back to their nests. Pollen is stored in various forms, usually for feeding to the bees’ young after they hatch. In most wild bee species, the females are responsible for carrying and storing pollen1. Bees can carry pollen on their legs and body from flower to flower2.

It is not clear whether baby bees can carry pollen on their legs. However, young bees make bee pollen, which is a ball of pollen made by young bees when they land on a flower. It’s a mixture of pollen, saliva, and nectar or honey. Bees carry these balls back to the hive in sacs on their legs and store them in the hive’s honeycomb(3,4).

Learn more:

  1. sharpeatmanguides.com
  2. pestworldforkids.org
  3. profound-information.com
  4. first-law-comic.com
  5. sharpeatmanguides.com
  6. sage-advices.com
  7. schoolofbees.com
  8. science.org
  9. edis.ifas.ufl.edu
  10. science.org
  11. buzzaboutbees.net

What we see here is that more information is provided, along with specific sources that we can go to for more information.

Also at the end of the question, there are 3 recommended queries that we can set to the chat.

  1. What is the difference between a baby bee and an adult bee? 2. How do bees make honey? and 3. Make me amazed.

I bet you have guessed which one I ll choose now!

When I clicked on the Make me amazed, I thought I would receive a bee-related amazing fact but instead, I got a snowflake fact!

Did you know that the world’s largest snowflake on record fell in Montana, USA in 1887? It was 15 inches wide and 8 inches thick! That’s amazing!😮

And for the end I got the funnier part :)

I asked both Bing and ChatGPT to write a haiku about the little bee

Here's what they wrote

ChatGPT

Wings buzz, flowers call
Tiny bee dances and hums
Nature's symphony

Bing

Little bee buzzing, Pollen on your legs so small, Nature’s miracle. 🐝

Which haiku do you prefer?
In Bing, it even put a little emoji at the end. How amazing is this!
But I think I prefer the first haiku by GPT

Let's make a short recap.

ChatGPT provides you more completed answers even to simple questions. If you provide a more detailed prompt, you will definitely receive a more detailed and tailor made response. It writes in a very simple way that can easily be unerstood and it resembles to be written by a human (I have not tried to test it for plagiarism or for AI generated content - because this is not the scope of this post)

Bing researches the internet and provides more information, as well as links where you can directly go and research. You can also select from the proposed queries below so that you continue chatting & learning for a specific subject.

I think it is good to use both depending on the subjects you want to research.

Thoughts?

I am sure that all these AI generating tools are here to stay. Anything that we may do, they will keep being developed and we really need to learn more about smart, educative and creative ways to use them.

Do you use any AI tools? Let me know below!

All images are mine, and text coming from AI platforms is in quotes.

Thank you for visiting!


For the best experience view this post on Liketu

Sort:  

Try the "Seek" app for android. You point your camera to an animal or plant and the app will give you it's precise species. It can be handy for you.

Thank you! Yes, there are also apps that can identify plants and flowers. My only problem is my old phone that makes me worried about trying out new apps 😅

How old? It works well on my 4 years old phone

Is Proof of Brain over?

Posted from my local computer.

What do you mean?

Simply if a program can do Hive activities, then wont the most savvy just put it on our desktops and let them earn Hive Power for us?