Chasing Stars and Finding Peace

in Liketu7 months ago



clpjh2k79000j82sz08f9ckmc_IMG_5900.png
clpjh2soj02o2aesz5p8k30kf_IMG_5899.png
clpjh34pa00akb1sz1udhcciu_IMG_5896.png
clpjh3cmb02r6eqsz6swsf0vl_IMG_5902.png

I continue getting used to writing more and, thanks to @namiks , discovering new possibilities to be creative on this platform.

As I was looking thorough my photography folders, I realized how much photography I have actually taken — digital and film — and now I am somewhat overwhelmed with the flow of ideas and ways to structure them.

Like I said, I do overthink these things a lot, but I’ll try to do it less. My main “story”, if you will, about my trip to Teriberka will probably come to its end soon (I hope).

I have more stories to tell and hopefully I’ll be more chill and relaxed about it, yet still manage to create good writing.

For now, enjoy some of the shots of The Northern Lights that I took on my dying phone in -18°C (which felt much colder because of the wind), when we went into a snow covered field in the middle of the night away from civilization to chase the stars and witness the magic of nature unfold.

That night I laid on the cold snow, not caring about getting sick. I laid on my back and for the next 15 minutes started back at the night sky. My eyes took time to adjust, but slowly I started differentiating stars. There were so many of them, you could see whole constellations with your own bare eyes.

For the first time in my life I saw the Milky Way. I thought I was seeing things at first, but later got a confirmation from the rest of the group.

The Milky Way! In that moment I felt so incredibly small, but in a way it brought so much peace. Realizing that yes, I am incredibly small, and that’s okay. That means things we do each day are so much more incredible and valuable. That we as such minuscule things still manage to achieved so much in this short time we have.


For the best experience view this post on Liketu

Sort:  

In that moment I felt so incredibly small, but in a way it brought so much peace. Realizing that yes, I am incredibly small, and that’s okay. That means things we do each day are so much more incredible and valuable. That we as such minuscule things still manage to achieved so much in this short time we have.

This sure puts things in perspective.
I should stare at the night sky more often but I'm sure it helps to be in a place like that. far away from cities and (light) pollution.

It really does

but I'm sure it helps to be in a place like that. far away from cities and (light) pollution.

100%
Where I live I can barely see any stars at all — maybe one or two satellites here and there. Stars are a rarity here
But if you have a chance to see at least 5-10 stars in a night sky, you should definitely observe them, especially in times when you feel a bit anxious or stressed — at least for me it's a very calming experience :)

I can definitely see some stars here ( even more so in the places where I lived in Portugal, up till last February. I now live in a very small city ) but still right next to the countryside.

In fact, I bought a telescope on a market ( a year or two ago ). Apparently it didn't work though haha but I love to stare at the sky and also installed an app called skyview to find out about the position and names of stars, planets ( and even satellites ).

The most beautiful starry sky I have seen though was on El Hierro, Canary Islands, in 2016. It is also the quietest place that I ever visited.

When I first arrived, at night, I wondered what was missing. It took me some time to figure out that it was sound/ noise. The contrast with ( a city in ) Tenerife, where I spent the two previous nights, was incredible.

Oh, sorry to hear about your telescope:(

But I think not having one can also make watching stars fun and calming in away✨

When I first arrived, at night, I wondered what was missing. It took me some time to figure out that it was sound/ noise. The contrast with ( a city in ) Tenerife, where I spent the two previous nights, was incredible.

I get that too, whenever I leave the city to visit some friends sometimes. Or when I simply get home from work. That's when I realise how much noise I was subjected too. Even the silence would almost feel loud, if that makes sense

Oh, sorry to hear about your telescope:(

No worries. I could have known, I only paid about 15 Euros for it ( but the Portuguese man at the market who sold it to me, said it was working haha! )

In a way, it is nicer to look at stars with our bare eyes.

whenever I leave the city to visit some friends sometimes. Or when I simply get home from work. That's when I realise how much noise I was subjected too. Even the silence would almost feel loud, if that makes sense

It makes sense. I am experiencing this more than ever, since my move to Portugal, in 2018. Even here in my area, there's huge differences in sound and noise levels though but once you know true silence, you crave it more and more.

Good to know you didn't get totally scammed haha

Yes! Once you hear the peaceful sound of silence, you want more and more

More and more and more...

Source

Congratulations @maars! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 50 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.
You made more than 10 comments.
Your next target is to reach 50 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - December 1st 2023