Making Memories With My Grandson

in Liketu2 years ago



cl8d76cnk011f24kccik1ga5t_20220917_173420.webp
cl8d76i9k011w2gkcg5ei33au_20220917_172132_2022-09-22T14_44_59.696.webp
cl8d76nlq012214kcg1al3khb_20220917_154455.webp
cl8d76rkk01150okcafzgamjk_20220917_164649_2022-09-22T14_46_28.179.webp

I don't have very many fond memories of my father or my childhood, but one thing that he was willing to share with me was his love of fishing. The only really thing of value he taught me was how to fly fish and it is an activity that has enriched my entire life. I was a better father because of his neglect and I try to be a really good grandfather as well. My grandson is 5 and he has went along as we fished as a family before, but he has never went with me specifically and solely for the purpose of fishing......well until now that is! lololol

Since he is only five and still extremely prone to the "wiggles" and bouts of inattention lololol I figured we have a few more years before we can tackle the art of fly fishing. I recently bought him an inexpensive spider man rod and reel combo that came with a little extra gear and a super cool tackle box! I added a few necessities to his little tackle box like a pair of pliers, hand sanitizer, hooks, bobbers, sinkers, finger nail clippers, and a small knife.

We headed out in the early afternoon to a small pond near where we live and we stopped prior to getting there in order to buy a box of worms, snacks, and drinks. Once we got there it took us a bit to get everything rigged up and we spent some time getting him practiced at casting the line. After he worked through a few casts of frustration, he began to get the hang of it and was ready to get to fishing.

As I expected, it did not take long for him to become a bit restless and want to hunt for bugs and explore around a bit. I did my best to keep him close to the rods, but I figured going into this that I would have to keep an eye on both poles lolol It was several hours of absolutely no action whatsoever when all of a sudden his bobber began to move a bit and even though I warned him several times to keep an eye on it, the fish kept stealing his bait...much to his building anger towards them lololol While he was extremely preoccupied with capturing the various insect life around the lake, a fish hit his line and kept the bobber under. I began screaming for him to grab it and he battled with all his might to bring in a decent sized pan fish! Of course, it did not take long at all for him to get bored with watching the line and he drifted back to the insect expedition. All of a sudden a few minutes later a fish hit his line so hard it began dragging his little pole off the banks. I hollered at him to come grab it as I dove for it and slipped on the muddy edge of the pond I was just able to grab the very end of the pole as my arm was about shoulder deep in the water and I was flailing belly down in the mud and mire lolololol I dutifully handed it over to him and he was able to land the small bass pictured above. He was grinning ear to ear with the catch and made my muddy misery all worth it! lolol

All in all it was a fabulous day to fish and spend time with my little buddy. Thanks for reading and remember each of you are special and deserve someone to look at you the way Elijah does that bass!!! lolol


All That Is Gold Does Not Glitter,
Not All Those Who Wander Are Lost
-Tolkien


image.png

Mancave banner.png



f0a3d4c3d77b4d99963764ecbebc0b6f.png


For the best experience view this post on Liketu

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @papacrusher ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

This is so awesome. Keep making memories with the little ones.

thanks buddy! he definitely keeps me young at heart!

@papacrusher Your welcome have a nice day.🙃

This is such a wholesome bonding moment for both of you. For sure, one day, your grandson will look back on this experience and will remember that it was you who he shared fly fishing with. I wish the best for you in life. I must say that you really are an excellent grandfather.

Thank you for the kind words! I think our next big adventure will be an overnight camping trip with fishing.

Oh wow! I'll look forward to your blog about it. ;")

@papacrusher What a beautiful story of you and your grandson thanks for sharing .

thanks for taking the time to read it! I appreciate the support!

That's the stuff! Glory days!
!PGM

really really made my weekend more special by sharing something i love with him!

Sent 0.1 PGM - 0.1 LVL- 1 STARBITS - 0.05 DEC - 15 SBT - 0.1 THG - tokens to @operahoser

remaining commands 4

BUY AND STAKE THE PGM TO SEND A LOT OF TOKENS!

The tokens that the command sends are: 0.1 PGM-0.1 LVL-0.1 THGAMING-0.05 DEC-15 SBT-1 STARBITS-[0.00000001 BTC (SWAP.BTC) only if you have 2500 PGM in stake or more ]

5000 PGM IN STAKE = 2x rewards!

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get potential votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444


wow happy child 🥰

Dear @papacrusher,
May I ask you to review and support the Dev Marketing Proposal (https://peakd.com/me/proposals/232) we presented on Conference Day 1 at HiveFest?
The campaign aims to onboard new application developers to grow our ecosystem. If you missed the presentation, you can watch it on YouTube.
You cast your vote for the proposal on Peakd, Ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.

Thank you!

oh dear your grandson looks so happy that is contagius, keep making memories with him, he will remember you for all his life