Recruitment Day

in Liketulast month

Recruitment Day




Today was a Recruitment Day for several vacancies at a local hotel.

I had washed and ironed my best clothing in preparation for what turned out to be a group interview, and caught the train that would get me there slightly early.

While on the train, I noticed that the sleeve of my shirt had dirty stains on it! It turns out that the Coke machine I had just bought a bottle from was dirty at at the vending are and it stained the shirt.


Stained sleeve

It's OK, I managed to hide it somewhat.

When I got there, I was asked to sign my name on a piece of paper and to write my name on a sticker to use as a name badge.

The irony of the sticker not sticking to my shirt, falling on the floor and being covered with hair from the unvacuumed carpet wasn't lost on me.

Eye twich

This is supposed to be a 4.5 star hotel!

Anyway, the event was largely ice breaking exercises to see who had what skills and how much information you could get from another person.

I went first and got a few sentences worth before my nerves got the better of me and I started to forget stuff.

Later there was another exercise in which, I not only excelled at but won for our group. It was translating emojis. The goal was to test if we were team players.

For the most part, I am. What I am not is a sycophant.

There was one young lady who was assertive, asked a lot of questions and had submitted a resume that looked like it was created via a website; it had her photo and all of her experience and qualifications. It was very professionally looking and was at the top of the pile where I could read it.

It's obvious as to why she was selected. She was brown nosing.

In contrast, there was another woman about my age who knew what she wanted, was assertive but wasn't as sycophantic. I liked her because she was intelligent.

We spoke on the way out and she asked me about my work at the Adelaide Oval.

I mentioned that I'd seen some of the others with small pieces of paper in their hands. Clearly those people had been selected. She said she’d seen it too but wasn’t selected either.

Personally, I think the real interview should be after the main interview is over, when people are relaxed and all of the pretence and psychological shielding has dropped. I would have hired her based on those few seconds of interaction at the front entrance.

On the way out, I also wasn't impressed by seeing used plates left where the public could see them rather than being put in the kitchen to be washed.

Update:
A week after I typed this, I got a rejection email and also saw that they were still advertising for some of the same positions. Clearly those that got through the interview weren't impressed either and walked away.

LMAO. Bullet dodged.
Trust your instincts.

Thanks for reading.

Until next time...



Shaidon

Sort:  

🎉 Upvoted 🎉
👏 Keep Up the good work on Hive ♦️ 👏
🙏 Don't forget to Support Back 🙏

Congratulations @shaidon! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 91000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 92000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP