You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: To the Strasbourg Archeology Museum

in Liketulast year

Do rich people still get themselves carved in stone? Artistic masons may not get as much trade these days.

Good on you for trying your French. I'm trying again to learn it and some of the pronunciation is subtly different to what you would expect in English.

Sort:  

Do rich people still get themselves carved in stone?

More likely to be NFTs these days. I think a stone head of Bezos or Musk would be a bit creepy.

What I realised most about my French is that I learned it in the 1980s and things have changed, not only in the way that English is better known than back then, but also because more is expected of you as an adult than as a child. It's good brain practice to have a go.

I bet there are some billionaires with gold busts of themselves in their palaces.

I have been doing Duolingo for the last few months and have definitely picked up some of the basics of French. My German is not bad, but that and English have a lot of differences compared to how French works. As you say it is a good mental exercise.