You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Raising A Buck On The Homestead

in Liketu6 months ago

Yeah, goats have been a consideration for the dairy factor over a cow but I have to get the chickens started first. Going to try and raise a couple of good blood lines as I have some good connections and sell hatching eggs, at least to help me get my homestead business jumped off. I need the chickens too as my tilling plan for the gardens. Going to spring some HBD for some in the near future so hopefully they will be laying in the spring.

Funny story though, my first experience years ago with one of my uncle's baby goats was that I was wearing some brand new shorts and well, we'll just say the little guy had an nasty accident all over me while I was holding him, lol.

Sort:  

rip new shorts lol I'd love to see what you're doing with your homestead! Keep us updated with pictures etc. Goats for sure (at least for me) are the way to go. Having a cow was so much work.

I think first thing is the chickens then I will go from there! But thanks for that advise! I have been considering goats. How’s the raw goat’s milk? Never tried that.

I love it! I actully prefer it over the milk I got from my cow