Homemade Chick Pea Salad

in Liketu2 years ago



cl7v39myo00s615m7cuq1buqe_chick_pea_salad_3.webp
cl7v39sj400um1lm7aaqe1744_chick_pea_salad_5.webp
cl7v39ye800s22dm75seq52gl_chick_pea_salad_8.webp
cl7v3a3vx00su1tm734pp8ppg_chick_pea_salad_6.webp
cl7v3a9oh00um21m745rnaqtj_chick_pea_salad_13.webp
cl7v3af6f00rz0pm70wxtce2u_chick_pea_salad_14.webp
cl7v3anu000tc0im76g1naifj_chick_pea_salad_1.webp
cl7v3av6e00uo1lm74fmr9h8n_chick_pea_salad_4.webp

Something new to try

Lately, I admit that we have not eaten much salad. While I actually love a good homemade meal salad, in a lot of varieties, I found it hard to force myself to stand in the kitchen with 35 degrees and cut all the veggies. I know this is easy to overcome by meal prepping, but I still did not do it. I'm pleased that soon day time (read: school hours) will belong to us alone again in terms of being able to divide our time as we please. I bet I will be a lot more productive and start meal prepping again very soon. To remind myself of the wonderful options out there to prep some ingredients for, I want to share this salad I tried some weeks ago.

I never bought chick peas in my life!

I swear! Only hummus a few times after I discovered it in Budapest. But for the rest, nope. I had no clue that they are nice to roast and you can add them to a salad or just as a healthy snack. When I came across a few recipes with chick peas, I bought 2 cans of them and actually planned on prepping the salad one of the next days. It didn't happen due to the heat, so I postponed it until it was less hot here and roasted the chick peas in the oven. I remember the tips that I read about washing the peas well and then dry them thoroughly before adding them on an oven plate. Otherwise they may get soft inside instead of crunchy. I believe I roasted them on 200 degrees for about 30 minutes, but you will have to check your oven when you try it and just keep a close eye on them until done. I also added salt on the chickpeas before roasting them.

Other ingredients

Besides a can of chick peas, I added some paprika, cucumber, feta cheese, red onion, parsley, walnuts, corn, cherry tomatoes and a few capers along with some salt and pepper of course. I did not add any dressing as I wanted to test out how the flavors worked together. The verdict is, leave out the capers and next time maybe add some baby spinach to try, I always love it but I've noticed that it's hard finding it in the fresh department. If I can't find this next time, I will buy lollo rosso salad, I love these too. That's actually the only thing I missed in here. I don't think my beloved boiled eggs would have made much difference.

If you have any tips to add to this salad for next time please leave a comment below!


For the best experience view this post on Liketu

Sort:  

Hehe, I have in my cupboards 2 small cans of chickpeas and I had no idea what to do with them, this salad could easily be done today and it looks appetizing! Cheers! :)

Came here from ListNerds!

Well if you have no clue what to do with them (I mean this is the only thing I tried with them lol) then I'd say go for it, it's a nice crunchy bite in the salad. And the good thing about salads is you can throw in any ingredient you wish to add. I usually have one or two other ingredients depending on what's available but you can just replace it with something else.

I hope you will like it! Cheers!

!CTP

I wonder how this taste, though, it is definitely looking healthy. 😊

!1UP

Try it :) It was surprisingly good and you can use ingredients to your liking :)

Thanks for the 1UP!

Have a good weekend ahead..

We don't have most of the ingredients on your recipe so I really need to improvise. 😊

So delish! I've never had chick peas and would love to try them, I hope I can get them here. You did great finally eating some salad, Lol. And it is packed with all the good stuff; great job.

I bought them in a glass pot, but I read mostly people buy them canned so depends on where you buy it probably. Roasting them is a must though, and I seriously think I will roast them again for an evening snack soon, just need to make sure they aren't too dry :)

Thanks for stopping by, gonna give you a follow, read an interesting post from you earlier, heading there now...

!CTP

1UP-PIZZA.png

You have received a 1UP from @thecuriousfool!

The @oneup-cartel will soon upvote you with:
@bee-curator, @ccc-curator, @vyb-curator, @neoxag-curator, @pal-curator
And they will bring !PIZZA 🍕.

Learn more about our delegation service to earn daily rewards. Join the Cartel on Discord.

PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
curation-cartel tipped thisismylife (x1)
@generikat(1/15) tipped @thisismylife (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

What a creative conglomeration! Seriously, as I read through your post I kept imagining all the flavors, and I bet would taste even more amazing on the second day! I would love some marinated red peppers in the mix, but that's just because I love them in everything lol!

Awesome job my friend! Thanks for sharing!😊

!PIZZA

!CTP

that looks delicious!