Authentic Khao Chae by the river!

in Liketu2 years ago



cl75jb7jz004e1wm7aes4ebto_IMG_5585.webp
cl75jbbtl005714m7681ma33u_IMG_5569.webp
cl75jbguy004c1gm7eznte1qm_IMG_5570.webp
cl75jbl92004i0vm77px7b1os_IMG_5575.webp
cl75jbqev004i0om7h3ngfsf3_IMG_5579.webp
cl75jbtm1004x0hm78wlh6e5u_IMG_5586.webp
cl75jbxap004g1wm79dhrdfmj_IMG_5580.webp

Khao Chae

I love Khao Chae! This refreshing cooked rice soaked in cool fragranced water eaten with a few side sweet & salty dishes like sweeten shredded pork, deep fried shrimp paste balls, sweeten pickled radish.

I love this set of food a lot and because of the fact that it's so hard to find on the streets like you'd find a place that cook you Pad Thai, every time I pass by one, I would just give it a go.

Khao Chae at Koh Kred

Just recently, my friend saw me so obsessed with Khao Chae and she was like, 'Why don't you visit Koh Kred, there're Khao Chae everywhere there'. I'm kind of surprised by it. I haven't been to Koh Kred though I have heard that there're a lot of old school or tradition dessert all around. I love all those then plus Khao Chae, it just sounds like a place that I would like.

Koh Kred it is!

I went there with my aunt and her friends. (My boyfriend almost have a problem with this as I started to hang out with older people more and more and he's afraid I will be just as old lol)

Since it's a Koh (means 'island'), the only way we can get there is to park on land then take a boat there. Already sounds fun, doesn't it? The boat ride was like, 5THB ~ $0.03 - On Koh Kred, most of the things they have are temples, markets, restaurants and accommodation. Quite touristic I would say, both for Thais and foreigners. We can either go with rental bikes or motorbike taxi all around. All the roads are so small (think 6 feet at the widest haaa -- I think that's kind of cute!) so it's either walk or the bikes.

Uncle Dang Khao Chae

From the pier, we walk toward where we thought we would be staying, and stopped by at this Khao Chae place recommended by a local there, 'Uncle Dang Khao Chae'. Really just right by the river so totally beautiful view as perk of eating here.

The Khao Chae itself? Honestly, this is one of the most beautiful Khao Chae set up I have ever seen. It comes in a traditional plate with natural indigo paint. The rice, instead of white rice, they cook it with butterfly pea flower gives it a nice pretty blue color. Love it! The cool water is just perfectly scented, not too much, not too little.

The side dishes, here, come with 4 things: sweeten shredded pork, deep fried shrimp paste balls, sweeten pickled radish, and sweeten ground fish. That last one is so yummy! But best is everything combined bite by bite.

How to eat Khao Chae

From what I learned from one of the Khao Chae shop owners, he told me that the right way to eat Khao Chae is that, you eat the rice with the side dish. Then slurp the the cool water kinda wash the palette before trying the next type of side dish. After knowing that secret (is it even?), it all makes so much sense and I just love the dish even more.

I sure recommend you give Khao Chae a try even though it might sound a little weird for some but honestly, this is one of the best refreshing (somewhat heatlhy? nah, not really) and most tradition you could find. I sure love it! Especially there where I can sit, eat and enjoy the river view at the same time. Lovely!


For the best experience view this post on Liketu

Sort:  

อยากกินข้าวแช่มากๆ เลยค่ะ บัวไม่เคยกินข้าวแช่เลยค่ะ ที่ภูเก็ตน่าจะหาทานยาก เคยไปเที่ยวเกาะเกร็ดเมื่อหลายปีแล้ว แต่ก็ไม่เคยได้ลองทานสักครั้ง

อันนี้ค่อนข้างแล้วแต่คนเลยค่ะว่าชอบไหม แต่ส่วนตัวชอบมากๆ มันแบบ หวานมันเค็ม แล้วก็เย็นๆชื่นใจฮ่าๆ

Rice looks pretty interesting!

That cold rice dish for sure would not be for me! But glad to see you enjoying some good times!

hehe you might like it :D Thanks!