It all started on an Island somewhere…

in PatronPass+2 years ago

My new experience living on Vancouver Island has been one of the best decisions I have ever made. Quality of life upgrade, comfort & lots of change happening with my standard being held high & proud of everything I have accomplished for myself thus far. I do believe we are quite hard on ourselves for even the smallest mistake we make, but I am still here. Stronger than ever & ready to take on the days’ work n rewards!

It’s hard to believe only 3 short months have passed since calling Victoria my new home. So much is always happening & it can be easy to get sidetracked or lose focus.

One of my favourite things about being out here is the ability to coexist with nature & become fully saturated in all the wonders that await the right person to notice.

These pictures I captured on an adventure can show how easy it can be to miss a gem like this: Witchs’ Butter!!

E8C96538-8892-4765-BC5D-89128332B879.jpeg

Stumbled upon this near Sooke on a weekend rainforest bath. From what I looked up online & asked locals, this fungus is edible! Neat!! 😁

So much variation in everything I have encountered out here, it really is an adventure everyday I wake up. I can literally drift off a pathway anywhere & find something nothing short of stellar!

0B1FD6E2-E89E-483B-9BAB-F627A7260B2C.jpeg

There is this tree on the corner of my block I live on. They call it a Monkey Puzzle Tree, it really is the most fascinating thing you (might) see today 😉

This tree goes way back to the Dinosaur Era & is endangered. Native to the Andes Mountains of South America, it can only grow in certain climates. It’s bark is super spiky as it has evolved over all these years to become fire resistant. They can easily live to be 700 years. Its spiral rigid needle-pointed leaves along stiff branches resemble the fibonacci sequence. So mesmerizing!

How it came around to getting its name is to see one in person, then try to understand how a monkey, or anything else, would be puzzled trying to climb its branches or swing around!
🍭🦖Something new to learn if you didn’t already know 🌲🌲

E11005A7-F7E1-4E0F-AB66-A13BEC017504.jpeg

There is moss everywhere you look here, quite amazing & soothing if you just think of it as a fuzzy warm carpet for the trees to dance when nobody is looking 😉
I managed to capture some sort of fungus on this moss also but I didn’t get around to identifying it. Oh well, I got to enjoy its beauty of simply just existing.

11097499-2CDA-4842-9FFC-81A32B785CC7.jpeg

These next 2 photos are neat because it is from the same viewpoint in Nanaimo. One photo shows how inviting the viewpoint really is, you can almost hear the birds chirping in the background as the wind blows thru the trees gently.

Which leaves us with this contrasting last photo from the same Bluffs. Except this time it was raining so hard & I was unprepared for this walk in my weekend cozies 😅
I could only take one photo as my phone wouldn’t recognise my fingerprint from all the water & the pathways were starting to become rivers.
If I do recall, this storm was the same storm that flooded Interior BC & washed out alot of main hiways. Oh the power of nature, at least I did my walk that Sunday afternoon so I got to relax after getting dry & cozy again ☺️

0312CDAD-1156-4C5E-A966-8B1ED298E47C.jpeg

I hope whoever comes across this & reads this has the most excellent day possible. You matter! Don’t be afraid to express yourself & be human

Love, peace & chicken grease 🙃✌️

Sort:  

Excellent photography to give us insights of Victoria's gorgeous scenery and local nature!

I am glad you stumbled upon this & enjoyed it! Thank you 🙂

You're very welcome!
Let us know if you ever try consuming the Witch's Butter

10-4 rubber ducky 🐥

Congratulations @cconn! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 13000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 14000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from Day 21