Plague doctor (100% ink drawing challenge with @firefly2020)...

in GEMS โ€ข 4 years ago

PicsArt_040701.28.59.jpg

Hi guys. Yesterday I was having a discussion with my friend @firefly2020 who's also an artist and a Chemist ๐Ÿ˜‚ about the covid19 pandemic. Then the talk brought us to the greatest plague ever recorded in the history of humanity. The "Black Death" also known as "The Great Mortality" or the Great Plague or The Bubonic plague, which happened in the mid 1400s claiming over 200Million lives in a time when the total population of people on earth was around 500Million. Some sources claimed that it started somewhere around Mongolia ๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡ณ, through the silk road and all the way to the west after bringing countries like China ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ณ and India ๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡ณ to their knees. Medical experts around that time thought the infection was airborne. Thereby making plague doctors ๐Ÿ’‰ to wear "beak-like" facemasks filled with perfumes to get rid of the "bad air" as theY called it. Where as in reality, it was caused by a lethal bactaria(not virus) Yersinia Pestis in the guts of rat ๐Ÿ€ fleas. Shows they we're wrong. Makes me begin to think ๐Ÿค”... Are our medical experts today fighting this corona virus really wearing the required kits? Lol.. The mechanism by which it spreads is amazing. This bacteria blocks the gut of the infected flea, making it difficult to ingest the blood from its host unless they're regurgitated during feeding, making the fleas more hungry and deadly. The flea major host is the black rat ๐Ÿ€ Rattus Rattus. But in the absence of none, it's happy to try something else- humans. So it spread. Killing its host in a short period of time(7-9 days). Unfortunately for humanity, Antibiotics were to be invented 600yrs later๐Ÿ˜ข. It is said that Plague doctors used onions, garlics and other funny things to rub on patients but in most cases, it didn't work. Mortality rate was above 75%. The mortality rate of the pestilence began to drop when Quarantine was introduced.

We also talked about some stuffs and as an artist, I challenged him on making the best plague doctor drawing. ๐Ÿ˜‚. I made mine using a black and red ink pen on an A4 paper... and here are the steps below.

Step 1

I made a rough sketch using the black ink pen.
PicsArt_040701.29.44.jpg

Step 2

I starred shading the head using black ink
PicsArt_040701.31.01.jpg
๐Ÿค—
PicsArt_040701.31.34.jpg

Step 3

I started shading his black cloak using black in and I used red ink to make his eyeglasses ๐Ÿ‘“
PicsArt_040701.32.07.jpg
โค๏ธ
PicsArt_040701.33.10.jpg
โœŒ
PicsArt_040701.34.07.jpg
I wanted to stop here but added the staff that they used to hold. I don't know what it stands for or what it was used for ๐Ÿ˜‚

PicsArt_040701.28.59.jpg

Thank you for checking out this post. Stay safe and do have a wonderful day ahead. This is @abdex9. I'll catch you on the next one โœŒ๐Ÿ˜Ž.

Sort: ย 
ย 4 years agoย ย 

The beak mask imagery was an effective one if primitive and misguided. They thought that by countering the stench of the "bad air" with perfume they would be safe.

That's a great drawing, I love how well the contours are conveyed by the pen strokes, thanks for the step-by-step. Love it!

Thanks for reading through. I think the reason why they bought the "bad air" idea was because of the fake news that flew about at the time . No scientific backing to counter it, so it bloomed. Unlike today, we got some funny things about corona too but thanks to science and technology ๐Ÿ˜‚.

I'm glad you liked it ๐Ÿค—

Manually curated by blacklux ๐Ÿ’ก from the Qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

This is a terrific drawing man. I actually underestimated you a lil bit my friend but damnnn...you did a great job I must say. I love the fact you added the Staff. It looks pretty cool. So, who won???๐Ÿ˜ƒ

Lol. Thanks bro... Errrrm. I won ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚.

I'll keep the 0.003BTC ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚ haha

it looks like Bloodhound from Apex I just love it <3

Wow. Nice. Thanks for stopping by

Dang that is real good.

Thanks @enginewitty ๐Ÿค—