Phrases for Thought

in GEMSlast year


Image Link

Some months ago, I got to share phrases I heard over a period of time that I found funny or emotion-provoking.

Today, I’m sharing more phrases😁!

First on my list is; "Home, what a wonderful word."
Hearing these words from the lips of a orphaned character in a movie, gave my mind a whole new perspective on "home" is.

Second on my list is; "In the wild of changing things, I’m free to pause and breathe."
I saw this statement on a WhatsApp story of my friend, Ofure. And as I thought about it, I reimagined it like this; “In the wildness that change brings, I’m free to pause and breathe.
Change is inevitable and can be overwhelming. But I believe Ofure wanted to remind us not to forget to breathe in the midst of change; to let us know, that it’s okay to pause and catch your breath.

The third statement has a bit of humor to it. "You go construct the bathroom when you go use." This is pidgin English in Nigeria translated to, "you will construct a bathroom for your use."
This statement was made by my elder sister, Akpevwe, in response to something our younger brother, Rukky, did or said. I can’t fully recall but I found the threat hilarious because, Akpevwe does the cleaning of the general bathroom at home and if not for her, we wouldn’t have a clean place to bathe.

See you in two weeks with more phrases for thought.

Sort:  

Hey @abkevwe!
Actifit (@actifit) is Hive's flagship Move2Earn Project. We've been building on hive for almost 5 years now and have an active community of 7,000+ subscribers & 600+ active users.
We provide many services on top of hive, supportive to both hive and actifit vision. We've also partnered with many great projects and communities on hive.
We're looking for your vote to support actifit's growth and services on hive blockchain.
Click one of below links to view/vote on the proposal:

  • peakd
  • ecency
  • hivesigner
  • Alright🙌🏽

    Congratulations @abkevwe! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

    You published more than 60 posts.
    Your next target is to reach 70 posts.

    You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
    If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

    To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

    Check out our last posts:

    LEO Power Up Day - April 15, 2023
    The Hive Gamification Proposal
    Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

    Thank you Hivebuzz

    That's great @abkevwe! We're excited to see your accomplishments on Hive! Keep going!

    BTW, our funding proposal needs your support to continue bringing gamification and entertainment to Hive. Please consider supporting it and helping us out.
    All you need to do is to click on the "support" button on this page: https://peakd.com/proposals/248.
    Thank you!

    Hello, @themarkymark. I'd like to know your reason for downvoting this post. I look forward to your response.