The Absolute Loves of My Life 2

in GEMS2 years ago

I didn't have to tell her what I wanted to buy because we had our regular; 20 naira broker's icecream and 20 naira meat pie😅.

NCS_1082.jpg

Yesterday, I wrote about my younger brother. Today, I write about my immediate elder sister.

Agbadudu Akpevweoghene

One of my earliest memory of Akpevwe, that I can easily remember, points back to 2009. Weird right? I was already in primary 2 and she was in primary 5. She was a school prefect at that time and one of their roles was to ensure order at the kiosk. Without them(prefects), getting lunch was always a battle. Right now, I fail to find the right words to describe the chaos.

Akpevwe would have to stand and monitor the queue for over 20 minutes, thereby basically sacrificing her whole break time. But one of the perks of being in such position was; she could skip the queue🌚. And that's where I come in.

Being my elder sister, any lunch money we received then from our mum, she was always in charge of it. So, that particular day, after consuming the food my mum had packed for me, I strolled down to the kiosk to meet Akpevwe. I didn't have to tell her what I wanted to buy because we had our regular; 20 naira broker's icecream and 20 naira meat pie😅. I do miss those days.

She got my order for me quickly and I collected my prize and headed back to my classroom.

NCS_4409.jpg

August 2022

I can't possibly imagine a day going by without have at least, one phone call with Akpevwe. She has become a constant part of my everyday life and her jokes and sticker collections will always keep you laughing.

It's strange that we weren't this close while we were in secondary school, but by the year I became an undergraduate, we both were a source of headache (the good kind😅🌚) to our mum. We made the best noise-making team; we fueled each other😂. And we still do till today.

Though continents apart, we still sound, think, laugh, talk and look alike🙃.

20211016_103934.jpg