The 100 Day Project, Day 5 — Getting it Done... Sortof...

in GEMS5 months ago

Today is day five, and I am summarizing at 12:40 in the aye-em because it represents the first moment I have had to myself, as we have had out-of-town friends in, all day.

20240225_005632.jpg
The final painting of today's stone. Now it goes off to dry/cure

Clearly, doing a "100 day project" is not for those who have any kind of social life!

Random Project Notes:

I feared it would be a short one today, and I was right!

I basically had time for pretty much nothing, but I did manage to not fall completely off the board by simply acknowledging that I would have no time... and so I made time to sit down and at least paint a stone, this morning... squeezed in between having breakfast and running to town for grocery shopping.

20240225_005913.jpg
As always, I start with a center point

As it turned out, it was actually quite a nice stone; better than I had expected, given the time constraints.

I was working with a color set I don't use very often because the red/orange/yellow pigments tend to be rather expensive and typically don't cover very well... meaning that I have to trace every single little line a second time, after the first coat dries.

People want to know how I get my colors to be so bright and vibrant. Well... that's how. They are all double painted!

20240225_005816.jpg
The design starts to take shape

Day 5 Summary:

One new stone painted; quite pleased with this one, all told... in spite of being very aware of the time pressure. I will be very happy when life returns to normal, tomorrow!

Daily Twitter/X post: Fail.
Daily Facebook Page post: Fail.
Daily Instagram post: Fail.

Just did not have time to even open social media today, let alone post something. I feared that might turn out to be the case.

20240225_005722.jpg
Starting to look like something!

Other Stuff: Determined to at least get in this Hive post; after all, I took the pictures of today's painted stone and I want to document it. Daily shoutout to @gillianpearce!

Day 5 is in the bag. I feel like I have "peopled" more than enough for a month or two! Hopefully I can set a better routine now!

I appreciate you coming to visit and please do leave a comment if you feel so inclined!

Thank You!

AS-0000-Spacer.jpg

If you enjoy painted rocks, do check out The Hive Rocks Project and help spread the word about Hive, while also being creative!

Because I am trying to make some semblance of income — a part time living, even — I now add this footer to all my posts, in the hope that someone, somewhere, might decide to take a further look at my work, and perhaps consider supporting independent art.

Thank you, in advance, for your consideration and support!

My Alchemy Stones Patreon appeal

Alchemy Stones web site and blog

Alchemy Stones on eBay

Alchemy Stones on Etsy

Alchemy Stones on Facebook

Regardless, your upvotes and comments are always appreciated!

Thank you for supporting independent art!

2024.02.24 AS-TXT-204/172

Sort:  

Great job at getting your stone painted. That's a huge success given your time contraints. I don't see your not posting on social media as a fail. That's a massive success to me in getting your priorities right. 👍😁

As a war game model painter, yellow is the absolute worst, especially over black. Two or even three coats can often be necessary to make to properly opaque and vibrant.