Moles Are Cute ~ but caused an Environmental Problem in the Town

in GEMS3 years ago

You might well think to yourself: "Such A Cute Trio of Stone Mole Statues" 🤔
However, the "real life" Moles (animals) caused a serious danger to the Woking Town Centre Environment.

When I first saw these amazing stone statues I thought they were Polar Bears. Then a few weeks later I read in our local Newspaper that they were actually Moles. I then further read that a number of real Moles had been causing an environmental problem in the Town Centre. As there are several large areas of earth filled plantation beds with shrubs, flowers and small trees in them.

The problem is that the Moles dug large long tunnels underground, which then eventually created a danger to the public. As anything above the ground can slowly begin to fall over, and the paving slabs can suddenly subside. This sounds a little extreme, but someone was actually seriously injured by a falling tree caused by the moles burrowing deep underneath it.

So this is partly the reason why there are "Mole statues" instead of "real Moles", which were captured and taken away to somewhere they can't cause any more damage. The long tunnels and large holes were then later "filled in" with concrete for future safety reasons.

The photos below were taken a few months ago, back in the Summer, but the long walk into Town along the beautiful Canal path is still enjoyable at any time of the year. So I sat on a wooden bench, near the Moles, admiring the talent of the sculptor before walking back home.

Please enjoy my amateur Nature Photography!

All photos below were taken by me with an Apple iPhone 7
[ Strictly Copyright ©2020 ©andy4475 ]

Andy001.JPG

Andy002.JPG

Andy003.JPG

Andy004.JPG

Many thanks for your kind attention, please visit me again soon... Andy 👋

Sort:  

Hi @andy4475,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 30 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
11