FOOD BLOG #2: RICE CAKE WITH SWEET COCONUT MEAT (PUTO BAO)

in GEMS4 years ago (edited)

Yesterday, my blog was about Filipino Snail Stew or Ginaatang Kuhol. Now I will be sharing with you a snack or desert that is unique and not sold in the market. Only few people know how to make this rice cake or kakanin.

PutoBao2.jpg

After I ate our lunch, I crave for something sweet. I don't want to eat chocolate because it's too much sweet. What I want is something sweet just enough to make my taste feel better. When I was browsing my Facebook feed, I saw the post of one of my church brethren selling a rice cake. I already ordered this rice cake before the quarantine but she forgot to deliver it to me.

PutoBao1.jpg

We call this rice cake, "PUTO BAO". It's a rice cake with sweet coconut meat inside. It is cooked in a steamer and has a banana leaf at the bottom. Biting the outside, you'll feel the soft rice in your mouth and when you reach the middle, the soft and sweet coconut meat will appear. It is really delicious and fun to eat. Only two pieces of it will make you full.

PutoBao.jpg

When I saw her Facebook post, I immediately contacted her using the FB messenger and ask if she can deliver and she said yes, but in the afternoon. Since Community Quarantine is still in effect their delivery didn't come quickly because of many check points along the roads going to our house.

I ordered it because I don't know how to make it. Only few people knew how to make this kind of rice cake. This is a native rice cake from Quezon Province, Philippines. However, this rice cake is now becoming popular here in Laguna, Philippines. This is really different from the rice cakes being sold in the market.

PutoBao3.jpg

When the delivery came, I received 1 plastic tub of it. It was already 4 o clock in the afternoon so we took it as our afternoon snack, partnered with hot brewed coffee. I ate with my family while we were having our afternoon chat.

I hope I shared to you today something unique. Something that only few people have eaten. May be in the future, you'll encounter somebody selling rice cake like this in your area or location. Don't hesitate to buy because it is something that you will really enjoy.

Thank you for dropping by!

line.png

img src: Oppo A3s

PhotoVlogger



Subscribe To My Channels

Ar2r TV | Threespeak

Sort:  

Congratulations @ar2r! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 100 comments. Your next target is to reach 200 comments.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Oh my gosh! Kakagising ko lang, then, I read this kumalam ang tyan ko. Hang sarap tingnan, I hurriedly read gihanap ko ang recipe, nabitin me. Ahehehe recipe please.

Oh my gosh! Kalaway! I read it hurriedly, hinanap ko ang recipe. Kakagising ko lang, cp agad hanap. Ito ang tumambad, nagutom agad me.