A day at Yabatech Art Faculty: An Artist's berth

in GEMS2 years ago

Hi to everyone on here. While this won't technically be my first post on hive, this will however be my first post on here. So hi, members of the Gems community. My name is Samuel and i am an avid lover of everything and anything considered Art.

I schooled in Yabatech, a polytechnic locate in Lagos, Nigeria. I majored in Electrical study, but Art has always been my favorite thing to study.

My favourite place in Yabatech is the Art faculty, a building which houses several art related departments - from scuptures to paintings, to textiles and all.

On the outside of the faculty, there are several arrays of art sculptures and metal works on display for admiration by passerby. I was passing though sometime recently and i noticed a new statue has been put in place

20220804_145731.jpg

This sculpture is the representation of man, presumably from the Yoruba tribe beating a drum. There are several type of drums that originates from the Yoruba tribe. However, a drum of this particular shape and size is called the "Bata drum". This drum has an hourglass shape with unequal ends. Drum in Yoruba are most used to eulogize royalties and those with enormous wealth.

20220804_145751.jpg

I tried to picture the reality of the drummer, and i was i awe. He looks like he was really enjoying what he was doing. Kudos to the sculptor who had the tenacity to finish such beautiful work of art.

I took a look around me and found some other fascinating work of art.

20220804_145809.jpg
I title this thinking man. It reminds me of a popular quote "Doers change the world, not thinkers".

20220804_145800.jpg
This metalwork is even more impressive when you consider the making. Pieces of scrap metal joined together to create a pulchritudinous hunk.

20220804_145833.jpg

Yeah, the 'Jordan's slam dunk '.

Thank you for reading. Follow, upvote and reblog for more from Samuel.

It 12:10am here, reporting from Lagos, Nigeria.

Sort:  

Hi Samuel, welcome! Those are some interesting sculptures. I like how they are geometric, yet organic and lively. Thanks for sharing 🎉

They are interesting indeed. Thank you for stopping by

Hey @arcadetems! This is @indayclara from the @ocd team. Congratulations and welcome to Hive!

When you mentioned this:

While this won't technically be my first post on hive, this will however be my first post on here.

Did you have another Hive account?

We love to read more of your stories so make sure to share them in our amazing Communities! You can also check out the Communities Incubation Program.

If you are looking for tips and information as a Hive newbie, click here. This will also help you with your start here: How To Get A Great Start on the Hive Blockchain

By the way, since content on the Hive platform is monetized, using other people’s ideas or images could be considered as an offense and which is also viewed in a serious light on the blockchain. Here is a useful collection of resources about how plagiarism and abuse is viewed and handled on Hive.

If you have questions, you can hop into Discord server and we'll gladly answer your questions.