Dalgona Coffee: Am I Late to the Party?

in GEMS4 years ago

Fam is busy playing with the family computer @kennyroy got, I am on a hopeless losing streak in Splinterlands... a Hive content inspiration eludes me...

Hmmm, there must be something else I can do!

Dalgona Coffee

My Dalgona Coffee

Dalgona Coffee is a cold whipped coffee drink which originated in South Korea. It is named "Dalgona" because it resembles a sponge toffee candy by the same name, also from SK.

A couple of months ago, it became a hype on the world wide web. With people on quarantine and nothing much to do, a lot dove into the bandwagon and even made different versions themselves.

I saw the instant coffee, matcha, milo versions, among others. Recently here on hive, @gohenry shared a graham cake dalgona.

I read a few reviews stating that it isn't worth the hype. Some mention that it is not as delicious as it looks, and most importantly, the effort you have to put in to make this beverage is not to be undermined (whisking, whisking, whisking...).

My First Take on The Infamous Drink

I love coffee, but I am happy with my brewed black coffee. I am not into latte so much, not even a cold coffee. Why did I make it, you may ask?

With my arms still sore from all the knead-work of yesterday's donuts, maybe another arm exercise will make it feel better? Hmmm... I guess I will find out.

Now, I remember I have a battery-operated frother somewhere in my kitchen. I rummaged through the cupboard and found it, broken though. It's been unused for a very long time and the battery already leaked inside.

Hmmm, anyway this may still work as a good whisk, can't it?

Now, for the works!

What will you need to make Dalgona Coffee?

Just 3 ingredients, as you would a normal coffee -- coffee granules, sugar and milk. Only, you need to exert a lot more effort to achieve the aesthetics, unless you plan to use a hand mixer or a frother (as I originally planned).

In a small bowl, put together 2 tablespoons of instant coffee granules (I almost do not want to say "instant" lol), 2 tablespoons white sugar, and 2 tablespoons of hot water.

Then, whisk away, baby!

Using electric mixer, this may take you only a couple of minutes. But manually... boy, oh boy! I surrendered after 15 minutes after achieving an acceptable froth (for the impatient me). Honestly, there were still sugar granules visible even after all that lifetime of whisking as you'd notice in the pictures below.

After 10 minutes of whisking
After 15 minutes of mighty whisking

Test of Character

Oh, making this coffee is indeed a personality test. Haha. As I try to document the process, I hit my bowl with my phone and spilled some of the coffee.

Almost pulling my hair, I contemplated if I should stop, or continue? Add more coffee, or stick to what's left?

Crying over spilled coffee!

Finally!

Hoooraayy! Of course, I kept on with what I have started and I finally have my Dalgona Coffee!

It looks quite good. I almost expected for the froth to sink to the bottom of the milk, but it didn't! Yay!

IMG_20200526_135900.jpg

Now, for the final test. Does it taste as good as it looks?

Time to destroy the marvelous creation and find out:

IMG_20200526_140215.jpg

What can you say, Little Miss?

To be honest, I only had a few sip of the coffee. It tasted good! Not too bitter, and not too sweet.

The proof?

Kids finished it all in a snap, even asking for another one tomorrow!

And finally, when we get out of this pandemic, I can say that I was also able to make my very own Dalgona Coffee.

divider.png

Many thanks to @bearone for this beautiful Hiveph badge!

Join and subscribe to the HivePh Community : Supporting Filipinos Worldwide

Join us in Discord.

Sort:  

This is so contagious! It all started with @gohenry the reason you've been inspired to do it as well. Sayang lockdown at di ako makapag bake NG cake sa house NG friend ko. Mukhang masarap teh. Dami na talaga pwede pag gamitan NG coffee noh? Ang tea din ngyon milk-tea na. Nakakainspire! And yes, the real way to test your efforts is when our loved ones loved it. More!

Yeah! I didn't know I will ever dive into the bandwagon kasi nga ung process is a bit tiring. But yeah, I still did it. Haha

Hmm,ma try nga din nyan hala if tinidor lang for whisk kaya kaya? Puede ba e blender?

Masyado syang konti para sa blender mommy. Kasi, 2 tablespoons of coffee lang yan and sugar. I'm not sure if may difference pag tinidor ang ginamit. Pwede na po siguro ang tinidor. Ready lang kasi nakakangalay. Haha

Ahh okey. How about mga 10 in one coffee puede kaya? Or need talaga ground coffee?

Sarap para di makatulog at mag post ng marami.
Have a nice day!

True enough hindi nga ako nakatulog, pero hindi rin naman nakacreate ng new post. haha

Saklap dapat pag ganyan post post jejeje

napaka interesting talaga ng dalgona coffee na to. ma try ko rin yan minsan pag di na busy talaga. nang galing pala yan sa korea, outdated talaga ako. akala ko inimbento sa pinas. hehe. thank you sa mga information dito.

Yup! Super sensationalized cia kaya na engganyo rin ako gumawa. I read somewhere it can also be made as hot, so I may try that next time.

natry ko na paggawa nyan sarap ang anak ko. Ako pagod sa pag whisked

True po. Masarap siya, pero kailangan paghirapan. haha

I haven’t done it yet cos I’m not a coffee drinker haha but you did say people make milo and matcha ones too! Now that’s a thought!!