My tryout fried rice today||I prepared fried rice

in GEMS4 years ago

My mum does not like use preparing fried rice due to the fact that we can't prepare it the way she likes.

I decided to impress her by making a little out of the remaining ingredients. Alas she liked it.

I must say it doesn't contain all the ingredients for a standard fried rice. This is my own recipe. I hope you try it if you're still learning like me.

Ingredients
Two cups of basmati rice

A handful of green beans

Two balls of onions

Curry

Salt

Maggi

Thyme

Red pepper

Chicken

Some of the pictures

IMG_20200615_065948_581_1592267718037.jpg
Fried chicken

IMG_20200615_065832_494_1592267765666.jpg
A handful of green beans

IMG_20200615_065908_442.jpg
Two balls of onions

IMG_20200615_071620_667.jpg
Dry red pepper aka Tatashi

How to get started

  1. I seasoned the chicken and boiled. When it was done, I fried the chicken dry with hot oil.

  2. I parboiled my rice at the same time slicing the green beans and onions.

  3. When it was parboiled, I then sieved it out.

  4. I placed the pot I used to parboil rice, now it's empty and allowed the water to dry up from the pot.

  5. I added some fresh groundnut oil, allowed it to heat up a little, added the onions and left it to fry for a while.

  6. When it was fried to my satisfaction, I began adding the ingredients for cooking.

  7. I added three cubes of Maggi, a lot of curry (the color in fried rice), ground pepper, thyme, some of the water I used to boil chicken and salt to taste.

  8. I allowed it to boil and then added the parboiled rice to cook. Add water according to the texture of the rice to avoid over or under cooking.

  9. A while before it cooked, I added my sliced green beans and covered it to cook.

  10. When it was done I brought it down from the gas cooker.

Note; I garnished the chicken by slicing the red pepper into long slices.

My fried rice looks like this👇👇👇

IMG_20200615_065757_003.jpg

I'm proud to announce that my mum liked my tryout fried rice and chicken. She almost emptied the pot without allowing me to eat what I prepared.

It's safe to say that when next she'll want to prepare fried rice, the kitchen is all mine to prepare it for the family.

Sort:  

Congratulations @beckie96830! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Thank you @hivebuzz

You're welcome @beckie96830! ❤️❤️
cheers, liz

Nice of you to reply, Liz @hive.buzz🥰🥰

Always 🙂👍

That’s awesome great job on the rice! Some of the best meals you make are ones where you just try whatever you’ve got around to use. My wife made a really awesome potato salad recently but just came up with a recipe on her own instead of using something on the internet. I’m glad your mom liked it!

I’m curious what’s maggi? I know all of the ingredients except that so I’m curious!

Thanks for being active here on hive, it’s wonderful to see so many people posting a lot! Keep this up, I promise you will get great results with great posts like this!

Thank you for the warm thoughts in my post.

I'm quite surprised that you don't know what Maggi is or maybe it's called a different name in your country.

Maggi is a spice we use here in my country Nigeria. It's basically a major spice here cause we use it for all our cooking.

Screenshot_20200616-030322.png

I took a screenshot of what it looks like online.

We use it to spice our food to give us that button pot taste like my siblings would say.

I could still explain further if you still don't understand.

I could borrow your wife's recipe one day to prepare food for my family 😂😂 that's if she's willing to share

Your dish looks delicious @beckie96830. Is this for the Week 3 of the Terminal Cookbook Challenge for BREADS/PASTA?

Thanks for your participation. You did a good job with your recipe and step-by-step instructions. It must have tasted OK since your mom ate most of it. That makes you a good cook.

Appreciate you sharing your recipe. Have a great day.

I guess it is @justclickindiva
Please do consider it as an entry

Have you read the Terminal Cookbook Challenge post to see what it is about?

I'll check it out

It looks delish @beckie96830

You can try it out

Are you going to get my own or should I just follow the steps and make mine

Both of them. But you'll first tryout yours before I give you a freshly made one

Hahaha 😂😂😂 I'm a good cook, I'll make a delicious one

Really. Try this too