Echoes Poem 10 - Took a Leap and Away I Flew

in GEMS4 years ago (edited)

Welcome to Echoes, a compilation of Poems. This one goes by the name, Took a Leap and Away I Flew. I as an author, had these thoughts running while penning it down. However you (readers) can interpret it in your own way.

Figure of Speech - Personification
Mood - Optimistic
Tone - Hopeful
Form - Free Verse, as it does not follow any set pattern

The poem has an optimistic approach. It showcases, how a person longs, only for a single ray of hope amidst darkness, and how that only ray illuminates the world around him. Help him stand on his own legs, spread its wings wide and soar high.

It portrays what change, a little help from a stranger can bring in an individual who is breathing only in search of a single streak of Hope. In this poem, the author finds its Hope in Love which bestows him with A zest for life.


Took a Leap and Away I Flew

Took-a-Leap-and-Away-I-Flew.jpg
photo credit: GodWiki


I thought it was You
And It went dark.
I thought it was You
And it went dark again.
I thought it was You
And yet it went dark again.
Thus , confirmed, tis not You anymore.

The darker it gets,
The shallower it goes
Beneath the sunken valley
Of abysmal depth
Lies a tethered piece of flesh.

Sush!! Hear that voice?
Did that beat?
Lub it did
Dub, it did yet again.
Beats like a dying old cough
But it beats.

Lying cold like a blind Egyptian God,
I swallowed,
The dying need of water, which
Stuck like a lump in the throat.
Stooped low, and yet lower still..

Love! Is that you? I whispered.
She calmed me down, soothed my eyes, and
Passed me the blessed
Drop of Nile.

Revived!
My wings grew back
Strengthened my back
Like a Phoenix
Rising from the ashes.

Eyes now sparkled
Mind now freed,
And as I took the leap,
The flight was set.

Spread my wings, a shield,
Guarded all,
What was set for me.
My World, My Life.


©Echoes
Thanks for reading. Stay tuned. Follow to know more @cherrythinks

Sort:  

Congratulations @cherrythinks! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 2500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 2750 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!