Reliving My Youth

in GEMS2 years ago

img_7348.jpg

Today I've been reliving my youth and had a drive to Barnsley to visit the Retrodome.

The Retrodome is an old warehouse or something that's been converted into a rather large arcade, with classic machines abound to anyone who visits.
img_7366.jpg

I love places like this and is a great way of escapism and makes you realise how crap you were at the games you used to play.

img_7349.jpg
I always have to play this classic, any guesses as to what it is?

Due to the Easter holidays, the Retrodome has extended opening hours, so, as it was my day off work, had a good 2-3 hours there with the family.

img_7369.jpg

This hotdog was divine, although I forgot to ask for onions on it, doh! lol

img_7361.jpg

img_7355.jpg

Really enjoyed this version of afterburner, although I missed the soundtrack of that of the Afterburner 2 game that we all love. The graphics were awesome though.

img_7357.jpg

It wouldn't be an arcade without Out Run, must be one of the best games Sega has ever made, well, it's certainly one of the most famous ones. The only downside was that the machines that were meant to move around when playing didn't, although I think this may be due to space constraints as they were sat in there tightly.
img_7360.jpg

As I mentioned earlier, I love places like this, they kind of remind me of the arcade in the film "Tron", although didn't see that game anywhere lol
A couple of games that I would have liked to have seen was Power Drift, and Bubble Bobble, there was an arcade that said it had bubble bobble on it, among other games, but I couldn't find anyway to select it, so sadly those friendly little dragons wasn't to be played.

This is the second time I've been to this sort of thing, and for £12 entry, it's not a bad few hours out, also, if you aren't driving, you can have a couple of pints there too.

So if you are in Barnsley, it's definitely worth a look. It really did bring memories back, especially playing things like Space Invaders and Frogger, still love these games to this day.

Thanks for checking out my blog, I hope you have enjoyed my adventure from today, more landscapes are to come shortly.

All the best.

Sort:  

Hi @darrenflinders,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am