Hawker Hurricane

in GEMS12 days ago (edited)

Setting aside my usual nature photography for today. I present to you a few Canadian stamps issued in 1980, and 1981. Don’t you just love airplanes! These stamps were created from paintings by artist Robert William Bradford. He was commissioned by the Canadian aviation museum to paint several, 18 in total, historically significant depictions of aircraft and events. The Hawker hurricane itself is not a Canadian designed aircraft, but a British plane that went into production in the 1930’s. That being said, some were produced in Canada as well. Of course, this plane was used during world war 2, and especially played an important role in the battle of Brittain. That’s a long time ago eh?


Camera: Huawei P40 Pro
Lens: Leica
Editing: Lightroom

Do you like Black and White photography? Do you like Colour photography? If you answered yes to both questions, then you are a perfect candidate for the “Colour / Black & White” photography community. Created specifically for that purpose. I will be personally curating qualifying posts. Join now.


Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Did Hurricane Hannah drive the Hawker Hurricane

No, he just flies motocross..

untitled.gif

Laughter out luuud

Since shooting the Blue Angels and Thunderbirds in their practice, I want to shoot as much aviation I can, I even dropped the wife off at the airport a few weeks back and snapped some of the aircraft coming into the airport. Pretty fun and I keep thinking of all the air shows coming up, I might just have to do them. I like these posts, I like the old school planes and at my local airport I keep seeing them fly and I captured some of those as well, eventually I'll get to them and share, just trying to get more before I do. I'd say if anyone is interested in shooting the older planes, do that asap because a lot of them that fly, them are getting older etc, so at some point you wont see them in the air anymore.

Exactly, was reading a story yesterday about a world war 2 era plane that crashed. Eventually they will disappear, and the museum will be the only place left to see them. Thanks for the visit, and happy flying, I mean snapping.

Awwww... The fabulous Hurricane that had to withstand the greatest weight of the Battle of Britain until the first Spitfires began to fly!... Great fighter plane, full of history!... I didn't know that some had also made in Canada, excellent information, thank you @daveks friends, beautiful postage stamps...

!discovery 40
!VSC
!PIZZA
!BBH

I didn't realize that either, until doing a bit of research on it for this post.

@jlinaresp has sent VSC to @daveks

This post was rewarded with 0.1 VSC to support your work.
Join our photography communityVisual Shots
Check here to view or trade VSC Tokens
Be part of our Curation Trail


@jlinaresp ha enviado VSC a @daveks

Éste post fue recompensado con 0.1 VSC para apoyar tu trabajo.
Únete a nuestra comunidad de fotografía Visual Shots
Consulte aquí para ver o intercambiar VSC Tokens
Se parte de nuestro Trail de Curación


Uses: 2/25

@daveks! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @jlinaresp. (1/5)

That's a very old stamp, very interesting friend

Indeed interesting, thanks.

I've never seen stamps with planes on them before. Those originals are so colorful and pretty.

Aren't they cool! Glad you liked them.

I definitely love the detailed depictions of the aircraft on these stamps. Especially the image of Tiger Moth

Yeah, that's a nice one. Could imagine someone wing walking on that.

Wow, this is a really extraordinary painting,Of course not many people can do paintings like this.
I'm definitely interested in Andra's black and white photography, friend.

That artist is really very talented. Unfortunately he passed away last year.

These are actully really cool looking!

Something a bit different for a change!

The beauties.
The stamps are still in use officially?

Yes, these stamps are useable even today!


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our Community and follow our Curation Trail
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@jlinaresp(2/10) tipped @daveks

My dad loved the old planes. He could name them all.

My HP is drained so here’s a Basic Income Unit for your last few posts instead!
Cheers!

IMG_5061.jpeg

I love your stamps! The Hurricane Hawker is a pretty cool one, they were used extensively in WWII. I love planes too, you should share more stamps and coins. Of course I'm biased towards coins, I love them too!
!BBH

@daveks! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @thebighigg. (3/50)