You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why is Engagement the Most Important Aspect of Blogging Platforms?

in GEMS4 years ago

You should talk with @fknmayhem who said:

He seems to think, as I said, we should maybe do away with financial rewards or at least in the manner they are earned now.


"If you don't have enough power or Crypto to upvote me; reshare me instead. Reshares are worth their weight in gold!"

Don't forget, you can upvote peoples comments too!
Sort:  

Taken out of content, slightly. That was about the 75% curation removal headline.

But, I doubt that the "current social media" highlights the best this blockchain has to offer. And I also doubt, based on a background in online publishing management and internet startups funding, that there is potential to scale the value of HIVE to make it worthy. Making content transactional is a difficult game and will definitely not lead to a $2bn mcap.

I never said to do away with rewards. Why would I say that, democratized publishing is one of my main focuses since more than a decade and a half. And on Hive I consider myself a creator.

But I do support a gradual move of rewards to layer 2, in order to create more and new token utility and remove a lot of constant down pressure on the token.

Rewards for creation are a "Trojan horse" to speed up user acqui. Our true assets are "central userbase, fast and almost free tx, and censor-resilience.

"Social media" was an experiment and should be merely a vertical going forward. We have games, we can add DeFi (have it already sorta), we do a lot of time stamping, and the chain's speed and proven scalability allows us to even operate HIVE as a real life payment token at scale.

Inflation averaging around 13% isn't sustainable.

Moral of the story: max 280 chars barely ever tells the full story. Taking that limited number of characters elsewhere usually will tell even less and may damage the intent of those words, characters.

Bonus: I'm definitely not the only one who advocates layer2 rewards. But I don't think we're ready for that yet and are IMHO at least two years and a half away from a possible, complete switch. A switch which isn't hara-kiri.

Bonus 2: I will be more careful with my tweets going forward.

Na, My bad. I misunderstood.


"If you don't have enough power or Crypto to upvote me; reshare me instead. Reshares are worth their weight in gold!"

Don't forget, you can upvote peoples comments too!