What's Lurking?

in GEMS3 years ago (edited)

sketch-1624886114969.png
Small movements and little stirring cause stress to this furry visitor having a quick snack. Something lurking in the bushes is causing stress on this poor cat. He could not even focus on how delicious the food is.

I decided I will create a second drawing using the minimalist kind of style. The previous one I made few days ago is too simple so this time I added a few details and a bit of a story on my drawing.

Here are some progress photos for you to see how I made this art:

IMG_20210628_210453.jpg
I got nothing specific but a quick doodle of a cat. That is my simple idea a simple shape thinking that I can quickly pull it off.
IMG_20210628_210527.jpg
Sometimes simple ideas may take several iterations before achieving that simple flat look. Here I was not satisfied with the shape of the tail so I changed it to make it look excited or surprised
IMG_20210628_210607.jpg
This would not be complete without a shadow, I think...and a small detail like a bowl to tell a story.

IMG_20210628_210546.jpg
Like I said abive, I want to add a few details to challenge myself and these greens framed my subject so well. Do you have the same opinion? It was not easy choosing what details and what colors to add. Sometimes being random could work but here I don't think so. The plants complete the story of lurking.

sketch-1624885059565.png
This one in blue background is my first attempt and could have settled with it but it looks bland. I thought that a deep orange or azure shade will do until I tried this lighter shade of tangerine. This drawing could have been a sad illustration but I am glad that I tried other options despite my declining interest to finish it.

Hope you like it.

Sort:  

Congratulations @dinglehopper! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 46000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 47000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - July 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation

So cute 🤩🤩🤩
🥦 !LUV 🥦

<><

<><

LUV

Connect

Trade


@dinglehopper, you've been given LUV from @mizuosemla.

Check the LUV in your H-E wallet. (4/10)