My Introduction to the Hive Community

in GEMS4 years ago (edited)

Discoveringarni.jpg

Hello Hive Community!

Let's pretend for a second that we are in a garden terrace enjoying a cup of joe. How do you like your coffee? I like mine plain black. Yes, no and no sugar.

I am Arni and I am a coffee addict.

Arni is actually short for Laarni. I grew up in the Philippines. I am a graduate of B.S. Architecture from the University of Santo Tomas in Manila. I am the eldest of 5 children and in an unexpected twist of fate became the breadwinner when I lost my dad to cancer. I left my country when I was 24 years-old for a job in interior design in Dubai in order to send my siblings to school.

I happily spent the next 12 years as a career-oriented and workaholic expat in the Middle East. As much as I wanted to stay longer, life had other plans. I returned to my home country in 2015 and I am presently living in Moalboal, a coastal town known for scuba diving in the south of Cebu with my french husband @iamyohann and daughter.

DiscoveringArni.jpg

Why I Started Blogging

The stress of the daily grind made me start a blog in another platform that I have kept for 10 years. Writing allows me to re-visit the past. My blog began as a journal documenting my expat life in Dubai, leisure and business travels and insights gained from these experiences driven by my curiosity. Spilling my thoughts into words have always been my great escape.

I heard about Hive through a friend @scubahead at the dive shop. As a newbie, I knew nothing about it. Having written several posts while we were all confined at home, I am slowly learning how vast and supportive this community is. After having lost old blogger friends from another platform who gave up blogging and have moved on with their lives, it's refreshing to find such an interactive community here. Thank you so much to those who have upvoted, commented and curated my posts. I intend to stick around and continue writing and see where this goes.

Discovering Arni.jpg

What I Am Up To

After living a nomadic life for the past five years, it was rewarding to see the fruition of my husband's career overhaul.

I am presently working from home as a freelance architect. I intend to collaborate with architects and designers from different parts of the globe on projects. I am excited to put down roots wherever that may be. I look forward to more work projects, travels, and activities throughout the year while hopefully being able to share them here on the Hive.

Sort:  

Warmly welcome to the Hive world @discoveringarni. You had explained better introduction something about your past life. Hive is a very deserve place for share your valuable and memorable experience and interesting things. People are very friendly and supportive. Keep going and wishing you the best your future hive journey.

Thank you so much @madushanka for your kind words and your warm welcome. Cheers to an interesting and fun Hive journey 😊

Hello, together we will grow up on Hive!

Thank you @videoaddiction cheers to that!

Congratulations @discoveringarni! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 1250 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

We warmly welcome you to join our wonderful community and share something about you. I am expecting more beautiful writing from you.

Hi @hafizullah thank you for your friendly message 😊

Welcome to Hive Laarni! It's nice to see someone from Cebu! And a fellow travel blogger! I'm sure you'll do great here. Please don't hesitate to ping me if you have questions or anything of concern that's related to Hive. See you in Moalboal when covid is over. Haha

Hi Kim. Thank you so much, like I said, I look forward to your travel posts so I could further discover beautiful places around here. See you in Moalboal 🙂

Thank you! I'll be on the look out for your posts as well. Seems like you're already established as a travel blogger before coming to Hive. Plus your travels are my goals. I'm just going local for now. I can't afford international travel yet.

There's a lot of hidden gems waiting to be discovered in near you. You're blessed you're already in one of my favorite places in Cebu. I've been there twice, but I don't have a decent photo so I haven't posted anything yet. Oh, I miss the sardine run! See you!

Naku hehe I was an unknown travel blogger 😁 but writing online is such a great outlet to reach out and exchange information 😊

Hi again Laarni! I forgot to invite you to the travel community that I'm part of. You can actually post directly to haveyoubeenhere community. Link here: https://peakd.com/c/hive-163772/created

Of course you have to pin your post in pinmapple. If you have concerns, you can reach out to the community in Discord. Link here: https://discord.gg/gPJNnZ

I'm looking forward to see you there! Cebu represent!

Hi Kim, thank you so much for this, I will check it out. Wishing you a great evening ahead 😊

Welcome to HIVE Community friend we are happy for having you, glad you made it here on Hive.

We are looking forward for your success in life and Hive journey..stay safe keep it up.

Thank you very much. I very much appreciate the warm welcome I've received so far.

Bienvenida a la comunidad de Hive, muchos éxitos y bendiciones con planes y proyectos, de seguro te Irá muy bien.

Hola, Muchas Gracias. That's about the extent of my spanish though i did understand your message 🙂

Welcome to the family dear 😍😍 take heartiest love 😘😘😘

Hi @monir03 thank you so much for the lovely welcome, see you around 😊

Hopefully we will support each other 😍

Nice... Welcome to hive... I'm an architect also, (Act only)! I am not graduated of any university in the Philippines. I am An interior designer here in one the company in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates.

Believe it or not, I'm a high school graduate. You are where in mid east? Is this your first introduction? Because I see that you have a lot of post already... (^_^)

Hi Kennyroy! Nice to meet you here on the Hive and a fellow UAE expat as well, although I left Dubai and came back to the Philippines 5 years ago. It's always nice to get to know a compatriot who's living there. Well done you, that's what I liked about the Middle East, the healthy opportunities in the construction field. Yes it is my first introduction but not my first post. I just crashed the party without invitation so I just thought yesterday, it was high time that I introduce myself. :)

Welcome to Hive! What a fighter you are, your life was not easy but you succeeded. I look forward seeing more content from you👍

Hi @creativemary, thank you for your kind message. I owe it all to God - Aka Higher Power or the Universe. I am not in any way religious but I couldn't have survived it alone. There were souls He has inspired or touched who have helped me along the way at the least expected moments and I'm grateful to all of them. 🙏

I can relate to that. Faith is important.

Ohh family world trip!!
I have wished it!

Hi rbaggo, sorry for my late reply. I thought I did and just saw this now. In a way I suppose, we have been moving a lot for the last 5 years but I hope that the next move will be a much more permanent one.

this is a late greeting but welcome to hive ma'am arni ❤️
kaka amaze ka po for being a bread winner with your siblings!

Salamat Jude and nice to meet you here sa Hive. Grateful ako to God, He made it possible. 🙂

Hello!
I have a question!
One of my friend wants to withdraw her btc to philppines currency?
Do you have any idea to exchange?

Hello @rbaggo thanks for the comment, there are Abra and Coins ph applications but other than that, my knowledge stops there when it comes to cryptocurrency exchange in the Philippines. 😊

Hello Arni. I am so glad you have your intro post pinned. It was so nice to get to know more about you. I agree Hive has been a very welcoming place. Glad I am part of the architect and design community too.

Hello Sara, so sorry for this long overdue reply, I can't believe I missed it. We are happy to have you as an active member of A+D Community :)

Oh no problem. You have been so very welcoming!

Loading...