Kayaking our Cape Cod shore part 1 : A Grand Day Out at Low Tide

in GEMS3 years ago

Kayaks in the long seagrass awaiting the days journey.
KayaktripA1.jpg

My sister in law was down for the day to kayak. We are lucky in our seaside home that kayaking can be an easy on off activity. This was demonstrated on this day as we took two trips with luncheon at home in between. Both at Low tide, the first as the tide was receding.

KayaktripA2.jpg

We headed out under warm blue September skies as the tide was heading out. We kayak in all tides and each level of a tide as well as each moon phase tide has it's own feel. We'll see various variety of sea life depending on the tide. Today, heading out, we had the tide against us once we left the open bay and entered the narrow channel of the small harbours and salt water inlets.

KayaktripA3.jpg

Before enter their narrow pathways we just had to sit and drift and let the sky and clouds amuse us. We can get heavy winds here as a matter of course so when it does down and is calm one can float and watch the seaweed move in the currents.

KayaktripA4.jpg

I'll share more of the images in the narrow tidal inlets in my next post, tho you can see them in today's video at the bottom of this post. You can get the feeling of coming along for a New England day out on the sea.

Back in the harbour tho, we couldn't resist, after the hard rowing against tide in the inlets, to just kick back and let our feet dangle. Hubby enjoyed his pipe and we only left the comfort of our sea beds to the hunger of luncheon , which we'd prepare and eat under the pergola on the terrace, waiting out the tide.

KayaktripA5.jpg

A very New England moment, the bow of our kayak at sea with the New England vernacular home of fading cedar shakes and tower against pine and blue skies.

KayaktripA6.jpg

It really was a grand day out and the kayaks, drying on our beach , await our post luncheon return to sea. If you would like to enjoy this trip then please enjoy my video. If you happen to go to Youtube, why not subscribe and give it a like, we youtubers are meant to say that ;) In any case I hope you enjoyed it, I know we surely did.

Until my next post, do remember to stay creative and enjoy the moment.

Sort:  

Ah, this looks so dreamy! I love it, could almost feel the water and sun on my skin :D I really miss this kind of nature where I live - should try to find more of it, but am afraid I'll have to move countries :D

Good to see you posting! Hope you're all well <3

Yes I'm trying to keep up here @soyrosa but now I'm making youtube as well as studio work, so busy busy, but tyring to stay connected to our lovely Hive as much as I can.

There must be some nature near by perhaps? I hope you can find some :) @soyrosa

Looks wonderful! Here everybody is kayaking as it has become fashionable.

The latest 'fashion' here is kite surfing and paddle boarding, but kayaking is more relaxing if you ask me :) I hope you are well @katharsisdrill

I'm much better, thank you. I think there's also a lot of paddle board and whatnot here, but I know a lot of people who have started kayaking lately. A good way to see nature, seal and porpoise, and signal healthy living and whatnot. My wife's brother has been sea kayaking for ages, and my wife is doing it from time to time so we are of course not impressed :)

LOL yes, no impression from our silly little paddling about, we're amateurs for sure.

Just don't stick your nose up when the ancient paddlers of immense seniority are there. I don't! It would be like you just started listening to punk and then meet up with some of the old glue-heads.

Lol where we kayak we rarely meet anyone, save birds, fish and various, I'm the most ancient thing going , peddlar or otherwise :)

When you are the most ancient nothing can touch you.

Looks like a great way to spend a day :)

It really was @ryivhnn lovely way to see Summer fade into Autumn.

Congratulations @donnadavisart! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 65000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 70000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from Day 25