You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Memorial Day, Day is Done

in GEMS3 years ago

That means he is probably buried up on the hill at Arlington House, The Robert E. Lee Memorial

Arlington House, The Robert E. Lee Memorial, formerly named the Custis-Lee Mansion, is a Greek revival style mansion located in Arlington, Virginia, United States that was once the home of Confederate Army General Robert E. Lee. It overlooks the Potomac River and the National Mall in Washington, D.C.

It is part of Arlington National Cemetery. If you have his name, I can look it up and take a picture of it next time I am there. They may even have some of the histories in their Archives. Let me know. That would be quite awesome~

Sort:  

I'll have to either dig his diary out of storage to get his full name or maybe ask a relative. I remember it was Captain Smith and I scanned in copies of the photos of him that came with the diary. I will do some detective work and get the full name

capt smith.jpg

How cool! That would be really nice if you could find it. But, only if you want me to look it up. I have a feeling he is buried on the top of the hill on Lee's former property.

Is that the rose garden?

The Rose Garden is at the White House and Lee's former house is within the gates of Arlington National Cemetery.

Haha oh yeah

Next rime i am back in hometown will dig out the diary, its an interesting piece of history in itself

Sounds like a plan! I bet that is an interesting piece!

Issued leather bound. Has some interesting things printed in it like population sizes of the states that existed at the time for both freemen and slave populations. Postage rates to the old world etc. he writes in it and towards the end hes just in a medical tent as he was shot at Attle of the wilderness and he eventually succumbed to the wound.