You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Upcycled Double Pocket Tote Bag, My 3rd One

in GEMS4 years ago

And the fun was with the laptop sleeves; We even made a little profit (not counting out own time spend on the whole project though). I do believe when taking merchandise from companies, especially in the entertainment and fashion industry, and turn their brands into something new, their fans will actually pay some good money for it. Like they did with the laptop sleeves. The problem with Fashion is the marketeers who don't want their brand to be toughed by others. The entertainment industry is easier, but this industry is very fragmented and how relatively low budgets. That said, there is a potential to turn around upcycling into something sustainable in the sense it can be done in such a way, it'll also feed those working on the projects.

Sort:  

I totally agree with you. Especially on the fact that not everyone is happy to see their products turned into something else. I've been staying out of using labels till now, I've only used one s'Oliver shirt label so far, however I've got a Levi's jeans and I'm going to use that entirely. Let's see what people are going to think of it.

Sorry for the late reply but with all the covid-19 madness I'm busier than ever and have less time for myself.

I was thinking of creating a tag on hive #upcycled and post our creative work. If you care to join, I'd be happy to see your creative work. This is fun and I'm going to do more in the future.

No worries being later; At HIVE nothing is ever too late :)
I think such a tag would be great! Don't have too much products myself to actually put onto that tag though. Am more a project /product manager and business guy rather than the designer :) But I'll will visit that tag for sure! Maybe you like to create a community? Maybe also a bit too early, probably not to many users into upcycling, dont know to be honest.

I've thought of a community but unfortunately I don't have the time to do it. I'd rather spend my free time creating new things and learning to create.
However, a tag is a great idea and I'm going to do a post about it, let's see if we can get this started and encourage people to do upcycling.

Thanks for being positive about it and supporting the idea 🙂

Yeah, focus is key :)