You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Music: "A Critique of Today's Mainstream Music", by bonzopoe

in GEMS2 years ago (edited)

Your post was sitting in my browser for almost 24 hrs. Waiting for me to respond, since I think you voiced the situation around music better than I ever did. The preferences of the 'users' changed indeed. Fast consummation we don't only see in eg fashion, but also in music. But also we see it in music creation. As you say, it's so easy these days to get to tools to create some music. Many phone apps around that create some music with just a few clicks. I think, more and more peeps think they created something of value with just 5 minutes of clicking. We see this happening all over at the traditional channels like YT, but also in the crypto space with all these services that pay one or the other way for uploaded and shared music. So much crap, hardly any gem in between. Because it's all so easy to create and share music, I believe 1) more and more crap music is created and 2) the push to be better is taken away making some (to more?) musicians lazy.

Anyways, though I hardly buy albums anymore, I tend to listen to complete albums through my 'online' music services. Mostly using Spotify, Soundcloud and rarely YouTube. I don't like to listen to individual songs. I always seem to have difficulties creating playlists with single songs. When I start, I seem to forget about them, ie never listen to such a playlist. After sometime when tidying up everything I usually delete these playlists again. I suppose this makes me an oldie :)

Sort:  

Thank you very much for your words, it's good that you liked the publication and share the feeling behind it. I think there are many of us who think like this and are a little or a lot disappointed with the music scene today, but that's the way things are.

Fortunately, new technologies also bring us closer to that music that we love so much, even if they call us 'oldies', I am one too and very happy to be, but I still have faith that one day things will change. Hopefully I'll still live to see it. Greetings from Mexico and thank you very much for commenting!