A Walk Around Sheffield Quays, South Yorkshire

in GEMS2 years ago

We had a walk down the Victoria Quays in Sheffield, South Yorkshire, which is a large canal basin. I've never been before but I'm always up for a walk down the canal.

"Thou, who art my spirit's portion
In the realms of endless bliss,
When at first thou gav'st me motion,
Knew that I should come to this."

The street art is by 'Affix', a local artist, but I had know idea where the words came from. I got chatting to a passerby and apparently, it is about Spence Broughton who was a highwayman in the 1700s. He was executed for robbing the Sheffield and Rotherham mail. In his death, he gained notoriety because his body was gibbeted at the scene of his crime on Attercliffe Common in Sheffield. His body hung there for 36 years. Quite macabre really. The poem is from "Spence Broughton's Lament" by Joseph Mather.

On a lighter note, I presume 'Laughing Gravy' is a reference to Laurel and Hardy's dog of the same name! Laughing gravy is slang for alcohol.

"Don't be Gullible 2019".

The sun was out but still quite chilly, but it was an interesting first visit.

Photos by @ellenripley - Julie S. All rights reserved.

Sort:  

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thank you very much @ecency.

Very nice and different photography! Such graphic designed photos. Never been to Sheffield before! Only had imaginary of an old town with good steel and knives! We learned about exports from Sheffield at school! 🙀😂

Yes, Steel City! It's only 30 minutes from me. I can remember when I was young, my dad made us wear our best clothes if we went shopping in Sheffield. I don’t now! 😁


@ellenripley, sorry to see you have less Hive Power.
Your level lowered and you are now a Minnow!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-01 - Winners List
Be ready for the next Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - February 1st 2022

That first boat looks like a much longer Badger.😁

I did think about you!

Another place we need to go see. You’re like our scout 🤣

I didn't even know it existed until recently. 😆

I’m going through lots of olaces I’ve never been to before. Loving it!

Good. That's what it's all about.