A Walk through the Village of Ashover, Derbyshire

in GEMS3 years ago

I visited a quaint little village of Ashover, near to me. It's what I call a 'feel good' village. Just walking around here seems to lift the spirits. First stop was the church yard. I never find them sad places, just peaceful.

During all the lockdowns when it wasn't permitted to have any services inside, the All Saints Church bought the services outside into the churchyard. As the weather has been really hot, they are still choosing to do the services outside.

I'm not a church goer, but I enjoy visiting the churchyard purely to read the messages. Quote by Anne Frank: “No one has ever become poor by giving.” I think this message is so true.

This notice basically says, that if you have lost something during the pandemic, whether it's a loved one or even a job, you should acknowledge your loss by placing a pebble on the empty chair to give you hope and healing.

Afterwards, we did a circular walk through the village fields.

Most of the sheep were under the tree to keep out of the sun. I felt like joining them!

Photos by @ellenripley - Julie S. All rights reserved.

Sort:  

Well, well Ms. Julie, such an uplifting post. Thanks for sharing.
The adding the stones to the basket was such a great idea. There has been so much lose, for so many souls out there, hope and light needs to be shared.
Have a wonderful day @ellenripley

Thank you. I always come back feeling better when I visit there.

I can see why, such a wonderful experience.

Mrs TWM and I would love to move to a quiet village to live when we become pensioners. We envision ourselves walking around the countryside and making friends at the pub. At that point in our lives, we would probably do volunteer work somewhere, most likely in something to preserve the heritage of the area. We both love history, which the UK had plenty of.

That sounds idyllic. I hope you get your wish.

Congratulations @ellenripley! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 9000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 10000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - August 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation

🙂😘🥰

Thank you @ellenripley, for your everyday involvement here!!! Have a nice day and a happy buzzy week 😊🌹