You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: THE FEAR OF FEAR: A PERSONAL ACCOUNT OF DEFEAT

in GEMS3 years ago
No, In fact I don't know anyone taking engineering courses even though there are ads for them everywhere. Your graduates need to come here as there is a dire shortage. We need educated people instead of the violent gang members and illiterate village folks coming here to pick tomatoes while getting paid under the table and signing up for government benefits paid for by US citizens. Everyone's tired of that as our taxes go up year after year to pay for them. Any sympathy we once had for them has been burned away by the daily violence committed against Americans.

If I had to guess why there's a shortage of engineers, I'd say the field is seen as something your grandfather took ages ago, so the youth generation has no interest in it at all.

Even with the 1K award, I almost gave up as the workload was insane. The instructors pick over every little thing, so much so that I had to remind them that we are human beings and not machines, and they needed to chill out.
Sort:  

It's quite unfortunate that the government over here isn't making relocating abroad easy for them. I think they're afraid of a brain drain(which is starting to seem inevitable at this point). Also, many of the graduates cannot afford the cost of relocating overseas while some are not equipped with enough information to help them go about the stringent visa conditions. I personally see these as limitations though. And I know that limitations are there so as to be surmounted by us.

Majority of the non-educated folks who manage to get there do so through illegal measures. I really hope they come to their senses and realize that they're creating a bad name for their home country.

Perhaps the engineering field in your country needs a rebrand and better PR so as to attract youths to join the industry.

I can relate. The situation is no better over here. In fact I can say it might be a bit worse. At times, we get as much as 12 courses per semester and the lecturers don't go easy on us at all. The pressure is sometimes too much, but we still manage to handle it.