Grape Harvest and Materials Delivery - Wednesday

in GEMS4 years ago

Preparations for the first possible rains since August 7th were the main goal of the day yesterday. I found myself flitting between various projects through most of it though. As I was heading out to pick the squash I saw our new spider that has taken up residence behind our slate name plate by the front slider. She seems to be eating really well since there are a bunch of earwig carcasses around.

IMG_20200916_105817.jpg
IMG_20200916_105821.jpg

After getting a handful of squash I headed back out to pick grapes. The Sommerset have mostly all ripened and this year they have nearly no bug damage. Prior years I have had black dots from juice sucking bugs all over the grapes, this year there are nearly none.

IMG_20200916_113715.jpg

The first tub of grapes went to the house and into a bag, about 15 pounds.

IMG_20200916_115546.jpg

The Vanessa grapes which grow bigger are still ripening. A few of them are ready but they are getting picked and eaten from the vines so far.

IMG_20200916_123549.jpg

I left a small amount of the Sommerset to finish ripening but got about 10 more pounds. We have a total of about 25 pounds of grapes from the 2 vines. They did SOOO much better this year since I hacked the vines back and trained them on the wires.

IMG_20200916_123809.jpg

The pole beans are insane. I really have the rows a bit too close as this is what the 2 long rows look like. It was like running the gauntlet trying to get through the tendrils and sticky leaves that grabbed at my clothes and skin. I filled the bucket though and got 12 pounds put in the cooler.

IMG_20200916_142248.jpg

The 2 rows have nearly grown together.

IMG_20200916_142255.jpg

I'd been meaning to repot the dragon fruit that @papa-pepper sent me some time ago. They have done pretty well but they had become a bit unwieldy so I put all three in the same pot with a strong tripod to tie them to. Much nicer now that they are consolidated and not flailing all over the place.

IMG_20200916_153316.jpg

As always I was the last drop for the day, which doesn't really bother me, I got my materials. It was a close one thoug has the pallet with the insualtion fell over on the truck as he was coming down the highway to our turn. Everything stayed on the truck though and he drove it all in with the forklift.

IMG_20200916_170017.jpg

First and foremost was to load the insulation up in my truck with the laminate flooring and drive it up to the studio so I could unload it all inside out of the elements. Then I grabbed the ridge caps and got them partially installed.

IMG_20200916_174334.jpg

I only had 1 inch long screws which did not make it deep enough so I just tacked the caps down to protect against any weather. Today I am going to put in 1.5 inch screws and get it fully installed.

IMG_20200916_174735.jpg

Audio books finished yesterday:
The Motivation Hoax - James Adonis
(Regrets are okay to have, positive thinking only goes so far and the rest has to be actually done, the rich and powerful had a LOT of luck and major advantages over most people in obtaining their wealth or power, not everyone can be anything.)

Write to Market - by Chris Fox
(Starting to listen to audio books about writing now with NaNo coming up. This was interesting in that he gives some direct means of determining a genre to write to by looking at the rankings of various books between Amazon and various top listings. Something I will look at later maybe as a way to direct the story line creation.)

Today I am going to move the sheet rock to the studio, the squash under cover on the deck, clean the yard of anything that can't get wet, pick more in the garden,

For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, following, and sharing!


FFF Runic.png



Sort:  

beautiful wednesday good photos clicks, i liked grapes

Nicely captured shots

Those grapes look amazing.

Cool all your materials arrived. Hope you can get everything under cover before rain...

Those grapes look wonderful!

This is definitely a busy time of year...
Those grapes look really good!
I'm glad I don't have to pick all those beans... :-)

So far I have picked over 560 pounds of beans. I still have many more pounds to go and if the weather holds I could be into the 700 pound range this year. Already the most I have ever grown and sold.