Your Proud Moment (30 Days Blogging Challenge - Part One)

in GEMS3 years ago

Source

Ahhhhh, my proudest moment🤗. I actually had to choose between two moments in my life that actually had huge significances in my life. So I picked the one which made me really proud of myself. And what made the one I chose different from the other one was that it was a moment of my life where I not only surprised people around me but I also surprised myself. The most important part was that I shocked myself (which should be practically impossible, like how can I surprise myself 😂). That day I found a light which I had dimmed for so long. It wasn't actually one day. My proudest moments were the day I wrote my first story and the day my father read my first story.

Before I continue, I'd like to say everything I've done so far was all in a bid to impress my dad. I've always felt like I've always had to prove to my dad that I'm just as good as the other children. And when my father read my story,I finally had this kind of closure I never thought I needed. I did something unique and it impressed my dad. No competition I've gone to made him as proud as he was when he read it. My big brother has been to every competition I've been to. So it wasn't really a big deal when I went to. My dad was a literature teacher and so far none of his children decided to follow in his foot steps. So seeing that one of his children took interest in writing made him very very happy. Finally gaining my father's approval made me happy too but that's when I also realized I didn't need his approval because it's my life. The decisions I will make will not have anything to do with my father and I could decide not to continue writing and he would have no say in it. But the fact that I finally got that closure actually made me proud of myself.

I think I've told y'all how I got to write my first story in my introductory post. Writing that story felt really good and I've actually gone back to read it more than two times 😂. And I have to say I am very impressed at myself. I would've never thought I'd write something that good 😅. For years, I looked for something I was good at, something that made me unique. Something that wasn't tailoring or hairdressing or things like that. And finding something I'm actually good felt like finding something I had been looking for for years. It was nice knowing that I don't have to depend on only school to get a job. I actually enjoyed writing,I liked that people enjoyed reading it and I liked that people wanted more. And it is one thing I don't regret investing my time in.

My first story was a hit and I love the fact that people who read it appreciated it as much as I did. But what really mattered was that I was happy doing it. And because I was happy doing it, I was determined to continue. It was a really big step and everytime I go back and read it again there's always this big smile on my face. Like I said in one of my other posts,the “younger me” would've never imagined that I'd write something that good. I just look back at the younger version of myself and realize that I've grown so much. I know “younger me” would be so proud of how I (or should I say how we😅) turned out.

Thanks for reading!

@golden06
© Copyright,2021

Sort:  

The most important part was that I shocked myself (which should be practically impossible, like how can I surprise myself 😂).

That is quite the achievement.

My proudest moments were the day I wrote my first story and the day my father read my first story.

Once I learned some poem in the elementary school, my step father ripped the paper to shreds and threw it into the fire, asking something like "what is this bullshit?"

The poem was about a tired father at night.

I did not wrote it. A famous Hungarian poet (Móra Ferenc) wrote it. The title of the poem was "Este", which means "Evening" in English.

By the way, I also participate in this blogging challenge, and today I wrote about the same topic as you (my proudest moment). It is an interesting coincidence. Feel free to check my profile.