I love mysteries - just in an old school way.

in GEMS14 days ago

Today's theme for #aprilinleo is about skills we learned as a child, and how to use them as adults.

 " "aprilinleo.png""

This is a fun one, as most of the skills that I learned as a child may be very useful in case of zombie apocalypse or nuclear meltdown, but not really something which I tend to use now.

Well, Grandpa was a plumber, so as a child, watching him, I learned enough without realising, to be able to repair my broken toilet when the need arose. This was a good one. On my Dad side, my grandparents were working in a farm collective, during the Communist era, and they did have a garden too, with animals, and all the stuff, including some fruit trees, a vineyard and the whole shebang. So, I do have some gardening skills, and I am good at some stuff, even if I did not like it as a child. I have a small-ish garden, where I do little experiments, like for example this year, I have 3 tomato plants, 2 raspberry and 2 blackberries. The tomatoes are small cherry tomatoes, and I may have enough of them to make a salad once a week starting at the end of August, probably. The berries are growing in the first year, with some harvest in the second year.

sad elf.webp

Now some useless skills? As I was learning to cook, I also learned how to prepare the chicken or the pig from scratch (this is a skill that every Romanian male used to possess), with the joke being that as an adult I eat mostly vegetarian, despite knowing how to dispose of, cut and prepare whole pork for Christmas, more or less.

Small repairs, painting, changing a light bulb or even a plug, and a lot of minor improvements that we always used to do ourselves, as teenagers, now we are cool with it, calling the guy. Unless is too expensive, and then I still decide to do it, if it is not taking too much time.

Our parents and grandparents used to be Jacks of all Trades. Now we forget more and more. Oh, another one, I know how to do jams, how to store stuff in a pantry (I do not have a pantry) and something that really surprised me in the UK, I know how to take care of my nails, both hands and toes, cutting and filing them. In England, old people have a chiropodist, a guy that is doing it for them. I do not know if the young ones just go to the nail salon to pay £25 to do it. Maybe it is cheaper as you go further away from London.

So ya, I have a large collection of skills, that I rarely use, but they may be really useful in case of a zombie apocalypse. Enough for today.

All the best,

George

Why not...

...have fun and win rewards on my favourite blockchain games (Splinterlands- Hearthstone-like card game) (Mobox - GamiFI NFT platform) (Upland - real-life virtual land) (Holozing - Pokemon-like game)and (Rising Star - Music creators game).

...Get ETH while writing on the Publish0x blog, using the Presearch search engine to maximize your income with PRE tokens. Use Torum instead of Twitter. I am also writing for crypto on Read.cash and Hive.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha