Can Someone Make A Hive Alternative To APPICS? HIVEGRAM?

in GEMS4 years ago (edited)

As a creator I loved the idea of APPICS. I was waiting for them to migrate to HIVE but for some good reasons and a handsome delegation from STINC (now owned by notorious JS) they decided to stay with STEEM. Sounds like a good deal to me!!! I would have done the same I were them or probably not. But it's their choice and I respect that. So now are we getting a replacement of it on HIVE ? Maybe HIVEGRAM ?? :P

screely-1586596727198.png

Why I Like APPICS

There are a few reasons:

  • It was the first project that was talking about SMTs from the day one. At that point in time, I didn't even understand SMTs fully. I am not a technical person but I can see the functional value of creating your own tokens with little to no technical knowledge. This means anyone in the whole wide world can create tokens. For me, APPICS were the SMTs back then.
  • Their idea to be the next Instagram of the blockchain world is so amazing. There are millions of people uploading pictures on Instagram and other picture/short video related social media websites. Just imagine if there is a chance of earning tokens for every like/upvote, even small creators can earn something for their effort.
  • Their team. Apart from looking so badass, their team actually created a decent brand image for their project. I have seen their presentations and videos. Their logo, UI and the overall brand look top notch and of high quality. No other STEEM Project has barely even done that till date imo. Please note, I am just talking about their BRAND. Have a look at their website. It's so slick: https://appics.com/features.html
  • Apart from STEEM, they are quite active on Instagram, Telegram and other social media website.
  • Their marketing is spot on!!!! It seems like they have the resources to do it like PROs.

Why I Dislike APPICS

  • The major reason why I did not like the project is their APP. IT SUCKS! IT'S FEATURELESS! IT'S THE SAME SINCE THE STARTING. Honestly, I don't remember the time I first installed the app in my Android Phone. Since that moment, it's pretty much similar to the first draft with no substantial changes.
  • Their Project was launched way back in 2017. This is pure speculation because their STEEM account was created in June 2017 but that's not the point. The point is that they are still in the TESTING Phase. It's still in SOFTLAUNCH mode!!!! As I am a serial Instagram user, I don't see them getting anywhere near it in terms of functionality. I don't care about the number of users they have because even that is quite low as compared to conventional platforms.

You might have the best marketing but with a loose product like APPICS DAPP, you are not going anywhere. People will abuse the platform for their delegation but serious creators will realize that the App is not worth it unless they come up with something revolutionary. I could be totally wrong but as an end user, this is what I feel.

Instagram on HIVE

Well, that's a crap phrase to begin with because I don't want another Instagram to be created on HIVE. But for the purpose of understanding, we need an Instagram like App on HIVE with unique features that stand out. I don't mind APPICS integrating HIVE too but then I don't trust their development at all. It has been so slow all this while and we need someone who can probably release an app with frequent updates. A great product with shitty marketing will go a long way than a shitty product with great marketing. @appics is not shitty but their app is not that great. The fact that it's still not evolving the way it should is shitty!

I am damn sure, someone out there is already thinking about it. ;) And I am waiting for that to happen. Once that happens, it will open another gateway of opportunities for creators out there. Please do not name it HIVEGRAM as mentioned in the Thumbnail. We all know what happened to the DAPPs and Projects who had STEEM in their names & they moved to HIVE. Most of them had to rebrand. So please consider that even HIVE is corruptible but that's a rare possibility. :P

Please let me know your thoughts below. What kind of features you would want to see on Hive's Instagram/Appics alternative?

Cheers,
@hungryhustle.


Disclaimer: Personal opinion. Only for entertainment purpose! Not a financial advice.

Sort:  

So much truth said. Congrats!
Almost every day I get some "broken" posts ending up on steem blockchain, but nothing at all on Appics app. So I have to try again. As a result - some bad looking duplicates. Whah a crap !
BTW, I noticed strange thing - could not find your account on Appics app. Do you post there under totally different name?
Resteemed.

Thank you so much @onealfa. We need an industry leader like Instagram on Blockchain. So far I have failed to find any. It would be great to have something revolutionary on HIVE.

I am using APPICS through my alt account - https://steempeak.com/@hungrypb. I post pictures/short videos (on Appics) and vlogs (on 3Speak) mostly on this account.

And @onealfa, it is not Resteemed anymore. Haha! xD We are still in the habit of using old terms. xD xD

I'm with you on this one, I enjoy using Appics but sadly no of them migrating to Hive.
I'm sure Hive is blessed with enough smart people to develop one here.

We want a photo sharing App on Hive please

+1 @joetunex. An app like Appics would be a great entry point for many more creators to come and try HIVE. Let's hope for the best bro.

I choose to consider the situation from a bigger perspective. Both Hive and Steem has adequate advancement to be the center of Dapps in blockchain ecosystem. As a supporter and user of Hive, I would really appreciate blockchain integrated versions of all popular apps.

I agree with you regarding your perspective. One way or another, people will realize the importance of decentralized organization. When the time comes, we, as the supporters and the developers, should be ready to welcome and help them to get accustomed.

Thx for reminding us that issue @hungryhustle 😌

Cheers @idiosyncratic1!!!! I chose to move over HIVE for the same reason - Idea of Decentralization. Even though we are quite far from it but we are at least trying to reach that stage. For me, that's enough for now. Looking forwarding to many more Apps leveraging HIVE's power. xD Thank you so much for your amazing comment.

I like the idea of APPICS version for Hive. We need to get some dev's and put this together!

I think it would be super easy for @peakd to "fork" their interface, break it down to pictures only, give it a tag and run it like instagram... no? :)

Haha. Good one @ash. Could be done for starters but then I would want to see a fluid mobile app like Instagram or Snapchat.

yeah, but I'm starting to prefer good webapps that are compatible with ANY mobile system :)

That works for me as well @ash if they are as good as a dedicated mobile app xD

Yeah APPICS is the only app that I will use to post to steem now and that is just for my little picture posts and such to milk steem for what it’s worth while I finish my power down. I completely agree that it has potential but the app is not making any strides. So I feel someone out there will try and tackle this. If my coding skills were up to par, I have already thought about it, lol. I was asking them from the beginning but we know their direction now.

Same here @thelogicaldude. This makes sense to me. Using Appics till the time we get an alternative on Hive ;) And I am sure it will happen sooner than we anticipate. fingers crossed!

If an apps development team can be"baught" for what,.... $13 upvote x 5 a day,.... $60 a day or whats that, $1800 a month if self upvoting and all that for a 1,000,000 delegation.... They aren't doing too well as a company. Or startup for that matter. That's far too little to sell out for, unless the entire foundation is based on a money grab, which everything on hive/steem seems to be.... so I guess nevermind, all arguments about decentralization and for the good of everyone is bullshit. If a company is willing to sellout for pocket change to any other legitimate company, fuck em. Plain and simple.

Hey @sn0n, I understand your point of view. For me the team is great minus the development, they must be having their own reasons to make that decision and I respect that. 1Million SP might look small today but just imagine when STEEM was around $7. It would have been worth a lot more then. xD So I get why they are in a slightly better position on STEEM as compared to on HIVE. But I am still not sure if that is going to help them progress looking at their development track record.

You are absolutely right that we are far from decentralization on both the blockchains but at least on HIVE I can see people who would love to achieve a decentralized society. We all are working towards that and hopefully it happens someday. ;)

They must switch to HIVE

I wish the that too @russia-btc ^_^

Shared on Twitter:

Appics - Uninstalled

Oh no. :( I will keep using them to see what they are upto now that they have funds to play with!

Reblogged and shared on Twitter -

There was an app called steepshot.io that was built on steem which was a competitor to Appics dont know what happened to it, and theres @deegram, im sure they would be willing to move to HIVE

Congratulations @hungryhustle! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 15000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 16000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!
 4 years ago  Reveal Comment