My Introduction post on Hive

in GEMS4 years ago (edited)

IMG_20200324_095142.jpg

Hi, my name is Wilmers, I come from Nigeria. I am a male, 26 years of age. I am a first degree holder from one of the leading institutions in West Africa.

I have been on steemit for a while, the platform was enjoyable while it lasted. I had time to explore the possibilities, I enjoyed mostly the utopian community. That's that about that anyway, Hive is the new home.

I've taken my time to study how the system works, I noticed curating posts are still in a state of imbalance. There are various contents that has gone down the drain without been properly curated. I hope the necessary modalities are put in place so Hivers don't see a refurbished steem.

How I first knew about Crypto & Hive

Crypto gave birth to Hive, so no doubt, I had to know the mother first before getting acquainted with her offspring(s).

First time I heard about crypto was in 2014, a friend of mine used a mining site to mine some #BTC then, I think the website he used then was btcminer.io or thereabout [not sure], I noticed his presence on the mining block and I decided to ask him a few questions which he provided answers. I opened up an account on the website and started mining. After some weeks, it was time to make my first withdrawal, that was when gas fee was the bone of contention, I was broke as hell, I didn't know what to do or where to buy gas from, it looked so strange to fee, the only gas I knew then was the gas cooker in my kitchen. I couldn't withdraw or do anything, I left it like that and totally forgot about crypto.

Later in 2016, a ponzi scheme [name withheld] became the talk of the town, many rushed in, I was also part of those that invested, there again, I heard of investing in #BTC, I didn't do that particular one because I had no knowledge of it. It was a year after, a friend of mine @dray91eu told me about how much he has been enjoying steemit. I asked him for details and he gave me the import at ones. It took time for me to get my account ready, I was waiting for a mail that contained my steemit keys, it took months to be specific. So there, I got to know what crypto really is, not just mining, but the birth of different blocks in the chain. First, I was a steemian and now, I'm on Hive.

No doubt if you're / used to be a steemian, you would know there was a huge transformation from Steem to Hive Take over. So no one told me about hive, it's something every steemian should know.

Lately, when hive.blog came on Twitter, it was censored and I felt bad for twitter because they know not what hive stands for. Unlike YouTube, steemit and Facebook, hive is a place of total freedom, where you can freely express your creative thoughts. Recently, Hive has been trending on social media, no censoring of hive.blog on Twitter, that's a welcome development. The people here are making sure everyone enjoys the time here and I give them their deserved credit.

My expectations on Hive

It's said that it's better to not keep your hopes high to avoid being disappointed, but then my expectations for this new chain is more than high, it is one that's expected to perform better than any other blockchain that ever existed. Hive should be the hope for the common writer, an abode for creativity, where writers/content creators voice is given the deserved attention.
Hive is expected to be the true definition of decentralization, true freedom, not a place where only the Hive-rich and powerdul/influential whales ONLY thrive. Everyone has something to offer, so there should be the avenue for everyone to bring something meaningful to the table and the reward system works for everyone.

Encourage a Lad positively, he will do more of it.

What I do for Fun

Apart from work, I also take my time to explore new dishes. I do not have pictures of the meals I made recently but trust me, my culinary skills are top notch. Well, you need a taste for us to reach such conclusion.

In my less busy times, I take pictures of nature. It's really satisfying to view, take a snapshot and see the wonders of nature.

This picture was taken by me, that's the famous River Niger + Benue basin in North Central Nigeria

IMG_20181027_074428.jpg

These two were taken from top of Mount Patti, the highest mountain in Nigeria. It is 1500ft above the sea level and that's the aerial view.

IMG_20180330_094709.jpg

IMG_20180330_094610.jpg

Entrance Picture found on the wall

IMG_20180330_110156.jpg

So I visited Lord Lugard's residence and took some pictures too. Though it's the statue of him and his wife, Flora Shaw

IMG_20180330_093843.jpg

I think take good pictures of the sea, it looks quite very calm and inviting, you do not have to edit or do anything, just find a good angle, temperature and set your camera to its best position.

IMG_20200427_171342.jpg

I love dogs as pet, it's man's best friend anyway, so I got one Siberian husky, her name is Bloom

IMG_20200114_133243.jpg

Pictures help with those rare moments you wanna revisit anytime of the year and I got some in my archive.

I have deep, solidified passion for sports, most especially football. I used to have a thing for Basketball until a team player broke my wrist, so I stopped playing. I will just go with football, please.

I have a deep interest in content writing, it helps me free my mind of all stress. When I put my problems, thoughts into written form, I feel relieved just as I've done now.

I hope you enjoyed my little introduction, I am an amazing person to be with, if my personality clicks with yours, trust me, let's have that ride.

Thank you for reading this.

39DuzQEPoYrLyAbeWtjyc6nS2hytVi5BKMhEh9qCzhM23BRt9rmDvBSUoRt3mQjcnFxTvpx7DiszgdBvvJQ2vssfzbeXHSRP8KrgDgisLYxYBzDwyXjorXUzL2SpYFruawjsmdBvXg8V33x6Kgqb8oJLCjLEkdVnGuZCWQ4kGng46p4FK7fECMEGFM2NS5LZEFeyfVmt35eKVsCJW3tAbmG.jpeg

Sort:  

Welcome to hive! I’m glad you started to post on here. There is a very vibrant community on here.

Are you using hive.blog to post? If you are I highly recommend using www.peakd.com that is the new website from the team formerly on Steem, steempeak. They have by far the most updated, useful and user friendly front end. You will love using it, it’s so easy and gives you lots of good information.

If you have questions about the blockchain here, I would be happy to try to answer any! You’ve made the right choice to come back! I think there is another Nigerian I follow, let me find his name so you two can connect. There’s a bunch of people from Nigeria here. I found it, it’s @mengene he loves history so that’s pretty cool.

Wow! Thanks for acknowledging this. I will surely use peakd and connect with the fellow. Once again, thank you

Welcome Willmer enjoy our wonderfull network.

Thank you, I will