I lost some of my funds probably to WhatsApp.

in GEMSlast year (edited)

The transactions you are seeing above wasn't transacted by my own. I still had my keys but someone else stole the funds.

What happened?
I was inactive here in hive for a good time and when I came back and I went to have a routine look at my wallet, I noticed these transactions that were done when I was away from my account.

Are you thinking how I logged into my account if my keys were stolen? Well, yeah I could login normally with my keys and the thief used the same keys and stole the money.

Let me make it clear.
Before going inactive, I transferred 22.695 HBD to my savings and then I went inactive. What I noticed from my wallet after I came back was that the thief transferred my 66.870 liquid hive to @sepa666.

Then he or she, the thief actually, yeah the thief then started withdrawing my savings. Then the thief claimed 0.420 HBD as interest so he cancelled the savings withdrawal so the whole amount includes the interest can be withdrawn. And this time the thief started withdrawing the whole HBD (23.115 HBD) to @sepa666

And the thief then started powering down my HP directly to @sepa666 and even collected total 33.394 hive from my HP and the rest of the HP was still in power down towards @sepa666.

Then there was another id.

I had 0.692 HBD claimable reward that was claimed and has been sent to @max5841 and that account took a delegate of 25.688 HP from me. I don't know why the delegation. Maybe the thief thought I'm not returning to my account or something else.

This is all that happened without me noticing. Then I came back to my account and got to know about these. I stopped the power down, undelegated the HP and changed the keys immediately using my old master key.

So, I lost total 100.264 HIVE and 23.807 HBD.

How it happened? Why WhatsApp of Meta Platforms?
I used to store all my keys in offline but to make it easy I saved my active key and posting key as text messages to my alternative number and mistakenly I saved my username as well although I unsent the message that had the username on it.
WhatsApp is the only place where I saved the keys online and as I can say, the moderators should have the option to see unsend messages. Besides this looks like the one and only way that I lost the keys. I didn't store my master key there so they couldn't change my password. Ring a bell now?

100.264 HIVE and 23.807 HBD is not a lot but I had to write a lot of posts to collect this money so it was my hard earned money for sure. He knows how it feels when something is lost or stolen, right? So, I know how it feels.

Only thing I could do to the thief was sending 0.001+0.001=0.002 hive to @sepa666 and @max5841 with a memo where I sent them notes 😅

I'm suggesting other hivers, especially new ones who are not sure about these things that

DO NOT STORE YOUR KEYS IN ONLINE. NOT ANYWHERE ONLINE. STORE THEM OFFLINE ONLY.

Sort:  

Sorry for the loss.
This guy is stealing a lot of Hive from many accounts! Probably exploiting some privacy leak from Whatsapp.

This guy is stealing a lot of Hive from many accounts!

Yeah their wallet says that. This happened to me about three months ago and then I noticed it. I just left it as it is without letting anyone knows about this cause I was thinking it won't make any difference.

Then last night I thought of at least writing a post about it otherwise someone may think I'm connected to those accounts as I'm silently using my account sending the funds. No one would know the funds were stolen if I don't talk, right? And here I'm started talking.

I hope this don't happen to other persons as well. Thanks for your upvote on the post, it is appreciated.

I lost my whole account with splinterlands assets.

That's even worse. Did you also lose it to WhatsApp?

No. Maybe some hacker ran some script and got my keys.

I didn't know this can be done to hive keys as well. It this can be done for real then everyone here should be in trouble with their funds, right?

I feel really sorry for you man. Please be more careful but even tho it's not your fault. That user is trying to steal from many accounts so he found some exploits as @stayoutoftherz

Thanks bro. I didn't think storing just the key even after removing the message with username would make me suffer as well. Pure bad luck. And yeah I also checked the wallet of the thief and I see its not just me, a lot of peoples are losing their funds to these scammers.

Another good thing is that I already moved most of my funds before I went inactive. Thanks for your comment. So I'm not wrong about WhatsApp.

Yeah that is fortunate in this case for sure! Yep, I have immense distrust of anything owned or operated by Facebook and Co. and they have earned every mote of that distrust with their conduct, product design and business models.

Sorry to hear about this broh. Goodluck though, try and inform some people on discord if you can

Thanks for your message and for wishing me luck, bro.

It's not all bad bud... You certainly learned a valuable lesson from that, a hard one but the value of it outweighs it all.

@misshugo do a quick read through of this post.

You certainly learned a valuable lesson from that

Yeah for sure.

What about misshugo? trying to warn her?
I see a her last transfer to you with a cute memo 😊

Hahaha thanks for informing me about that 😂 now I feel bad I didn't even see that little message 👀 shite

Oooh, you missed a big thing bro. You should check the memos more often after this.

Congratulations @izuki.midoriya! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 2250 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 2500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Wow, that's crazy!

Yup 😑 stay safe from these scams.

The fucker is still at it ,. emptied my hiveengine , stole 8.5 hive from my wallet and set my account to power-down .

all keys where stored offline , except for the ones in the hive key chain , so i suspect they got hold of the keychain password somehow .

Lost about 100 dollars in coins to this prick , changed PC and OS and made a new keychain PW .
I suspect i was targeted for friendly questioning some dodgy accounts on Blurt and Hive .
For what i had in my wallets was not worthy all that hacking and phishing at all .

EDIT !!! . just saw all splinterlands cards are gone ,. 120.000 power .
REALLY REALLY PISSED OF NOW !!!!!

What a scam paradise hive has become ,. to the fucking moon and die .
ALL OF THEM !!!

That's sad. These motherf*** lives through history. Don't be sad, just try to stay safe.