A post about family history, of a generational sort

in GEMS4 years ago

Family Tree.jpg
This is an older copy of my family tree.
On the top left, there is a branch marked C.W. Smith, with only two twigs to it.
One for each of a Brother and Sister (who had one child) This tells you how old the copy is, because Daddy eventually had 4 living children by his first marriage, and two (myself being the youngest) by his second marriage.
At the very root of THIS tree, is my great GrandFather Daniel Harrison Smith, and of course G Grandmama Nancy. I of course never new either of them
image.png

Picture:
Daniel Harrison Smith
Circa 1880

Daniel Harrison Smith
b. 1841
d. 1891

Daniel Harrison Smith was a solider in the Confederate Army. His name is listed in Company B, 61st Regiment Georgia Infantry. He was prominent in the affairs of his community and a leader in church affairs.
image.png
He was on of the first trustees of Tattnall CampGround and helped in the building of the first tabernacle.
campground.jpg
Before him, was my GG Grandfather, James Smith (No pictures available)
James Smith
b. circa 1780
d. 1841

James Smith was born in North Carolina. He came to Tattnall County, Georgia in 1803 or 1804 and was the first of his family in the county. He is shown in the list of taxpayers in the 1804 Tax Digest of Tattnall County.
Frances Bell
In 1800 James Smith married Frances Bell who was born about 1779. She was the daughter of Nathaniel Bell of New Brunswick County, North Carolina and the granddaughter of James Bell, R.S. of North Carolina.
James and Frances Bell Smith lived in Screven County, Georgia until 1803, when they moved to Tattnall County. Upon the death of his father, Simon Smith, he inherited the land in Tattnall (now Evans) County which was owned by his father.
James and Frances had the following children:
i. Alexander Smith
ii. Henry Allen Smith
iii. Simon Peter Smith
iv. Mary Ann Smith
v. John C. Smith
vi. Elizabeth Smith
vii. Rebecca Smith
viii. James Bell Smith my G Grandfather (No image available)

James Bell Smith

b. 1822
d. 1891

James Bell Smith was born in Tattnall (now Evans) County, Georgia on February 1, 1823 and died in January 1891.
Lewellen Sarah Georgia Ann Sikes

James Bell Smith married Lewellen Sarah Georgia Ann Sikes who was born on March 12, 1825 and died September 26, 1870. She was the daughter of Dr. Daniel Sikes and Elizabeth Jane Eason and the granddaughter of Rev. William Eason and Sarah Mattox Eason and the great granddaughter of Michael McKenzie Mattox.
Both James Bell Smith and Lewellen S. Georgia Ann Sikes are buried the Smith Family Cemetery at Bellville, Evans County, Georgia along with James Bell Smith’s second wife Rachel Brazell Tippins.
James Bell and Georgia Ann had the following children:

i. Daniel Harrison Smith (my G Grandfather)
ii. Alexander A. Smith
iii. Queen Ann Mozell Smith
iv. Godiva (Divey) Smith
v. Euzeby (Zebe) Smith
vi. Helena Augusta Victoria Smith
vii. James (Jim) Bell Smith II
viii. Pulaski Sikes Smith
ix. Oscar M. Smith
x. Alvarader (Radar) Beauregard Smith
xi. Michael (Mike) McKenzie Smith
xii. Ulala Smith
xiii. Georgia Ann Smith
Daniel Harrison Smith married in 1860 to Nancy Brewton, born in 1843 and died 1885. She was the daughter of Benjamin Brewton (Georgia 1796 – 1875)
Daniel Harrison Smith and Nancy Brewton had the following children:
i. Claudius Clarence Smith
ii. Ezzie Smith
iii. Queen Ann Smith
iv. Lovick Pierce Smith
v. Commodore Beecher Smith
vi. Stuart Plunkett Smith
vii. English Gartrell Smith
viii. Labella Naude Smith
ix. Roscoe Thurman Smith
Lovick Pierce, Commodore Beecher, English Gartrell and Roscoe Thurman.jpg

L-R
Lovick Pierce, Commodore Beecher, English Gartrell and Roscoe Thurman Smith

And so we come full circle to the Family Tree, and the main point of this tale. I find myself many times in the role of records keeper, so it came to me that "Uncle English" had written his life story (or we suspect dictated to a niece who lived with and cared for him in his later years.)

                  "The Life Story of English Smith"

                                                                  In his own words
                                                                                                Preface

                                                                                                      by

                                                                  Jerry E Smith
                                                        Original compilation date
                                                                  April 30, 2013

Shirley Smith, who is married to my cousin William, sent me the manuscript of this. As is stated in the writing, it was done in 1958. It appears to be in his own words, possibly by his own hand, but I have my doubts of that. He states that at the time of this writing he had a niece living with him, helping to care for him. I suspect she is the one who did the typing.
This was done on a manual typewriter, with an apparently failing ribbon. I did my best to make out all the words, and I resisted, MIGHTILY I might add, the urge to correct some punctuation and spelling, so everything is just as it was written, to the best of my ability. Also, I have not “done the math” to check out any of the age/date statements.
There were some places where I was unsure about spelling, or the print was obscured, I put [brackets] around those spots.

                  The Life Story of English Smith

                                                        In his own words

I was born in 1877, Sept. 21 where the little town of Bellville now is, In the spring of 1879 my father moved [us 2 ½] miles south to what is now know as Smith Town, There was not any buildings or clearing.
My father was very ambitious and able to work, so was my mother. There was 6 children older than I was.
Claudius Clarance,
[Essey], Queen,
Lovic Pierce, which was born at the old Tattnall CampGround,(The tree calls him Lovette)
Beecher and Stewart and English which is myself, Maude and Roscoe.

In 1885 my mother died with T.B. In 1886 my sister Maude died. In 1887 sister Queen died. In a889 father married a Miss Julia Rogers. She was a very high tone lady. She was real good to us children. There was 2 children born to his last wife, both boys. One had a fall that killed him at 6 months old. The other boy was named James Bell Smith after my grandfather. He is now living in Los Angeles, California and is very prominent. (more about him in a moment)

I was born Sept.21,1877 at the old home of my grandfather, James B. Smith.
My father was named Daniel Harrison Smith. My mother was named Nancy Brewton, daughter of Ben Brewton.
My father’s first livelihood was cutting timber and floating it to Savannah.
He was a great hunter. He kept good dogs and was considered the best shot in his day. He shot deer and wild turkey with an old muzzle loading rifle. He was very ambitious and a hard worker.
When I was 2 years old my grandfather gave in a tract of land. It consisted of 1000 acres on Bull Creek 2 ½ miles south of Bellville, Ga.
It was well timbered with no building or clearing.
In 1879 he built a small log house and in 1880 moved in it. He cleared 50 acres of land and went to farming.
Later, he built a big frame house and in a few years he was one of the biggest and most outstanding farmers of his day. He was a good provider and good to his children.
He belonged to the Methodist church and managed his house well. He was a good Christian.
My mother was one of the most devout Christians I ever saw. The best mother one ever had. She was also a hard worker.
She developed T.B. and died in 1885 at the age of 40. She was the mother of 9 children, 6 boys and 3 girls. The oldest one was named [Essey] which got killed when a well sweep broke while she was drawing water and knocked her brains out at the age of 9.
Well Sweep
I suspect he meant a pulley, which spun out of control knocking my g aunt in the head
The rest of the children lived until after out Mother died in 1885 leaving my father and 8 children.

In 1886 sister Maude died at the age of 8 years and in 1887 Sister Queen died at the age of 20 leaving Father and 6 boys.
We caught it tough.
My father was a good cook and Brother Lovic soon leaned [SIC] to cook. We all soon learned to cook.
I soon learned to wash the clothes. Father furnished plenty of good food and after a years time we were doing alright.
We kept our house neat and clean and done lots of field work but I never will forget how sad it was and how lonosome[SIC] we got.
The children’s names were as follows: first, Esey, Claudious[SIC] Clarence, Queen Elizabeth, Lovic Pierce, Comodore[SIC] Beecher, Stewart Plunket, English Gartrell, Eva Maude and Roscoe Thurmon.

At the age of 19 years, July 31, 1896 I was married to Miss [Ulalah] Rebecca Riggs the best woman that ever lived.
We built a little house, bought some furniture, a mule and a wagon and a years supply from a merchant by the name of George Tillman.
On Sept 10, 1897 our first child was born. A daughter, her name Eva Maude.
On Nov. 26, 1898 a son was born we named him Curtis Dephew.

During this time there was the worst panic I ever saw. We sold our crop of Sea Island cotton for 8 cents a pound. Three bales about [???].
The merchant closed us out.
I bought a large water mill and moved near it, that was in 1899. I ground corn and gined [SIC] cotton [8] years for the public and done very well.
On August 8, 1902 another son was born, we named him Emmerson Alvarado. On Sept. 14, 1904 another son was born, we named him Otha Leon. On Nov. 17, 190[6] a son was born, we named William Harrison after his grandfathers, we called him Harry.

I left the water mill and was a tenant farmer for 8 years. I had a hard time but was happy at this mill pond. I did not spoil my boys. They did not mind to work.
I got in debt but always had a good credit.
In 1914 I went to the Altamaha ( a large navigable river in South Georgia) fishing. There had been a big freshit and had drowned many swamp cattle.

At that time the only way to cross the river was by ferry. Mr. Sam Padgett was the ferry man at this place. He said if he could get 7 dollars a head for his swamp cattle he would sell them.
I got the bank to pay for them and I got in the cattle business. There was about 80 head.
From then until this writing which is 1958 I have farmed and raised or fed livestock.I have lived completely ever since.

In 1923 I moved to Savannah, Ga.and rented a small meat business with 2 of my sons. I did very well at that.

In 1927 I rented a cattle ranch at Riceboro

!pinmapple 31.734077 lat -81.444978 long Riceboro, Liberty County Ga d3scr

It was about 4,000 acres. I bought 500 head of cattle and was in the cattle business for a while and did very well for a while but the [Hoover] Panic caught me with about 700 cattle. My lease ran out and in 1932 I had to close out at a great loss.
image.png
Red outline is Liberty County, Blue outline is my home county of Evans, the blue line is the Altamaha River

I lived on in Liberty County until 1937. I had a great time in Liberty. I lived near a settlement of Negroes that was as good neighbors as I ever lived by.
I tried to help them and they did lots for me and Mrs. Smith. There was one woman who did our [weaning], her name was Betsy Hudson.
She thanked God for every-thing.
I never will forget her losing her handbag. When I found it I was curious to know what was in it.
I found cigar and cigarette butts and a pipe.
When I gave it to her, she filled her pipe with cigarette butts and said “Thank God”.
I did lots of big game hunting and killed more wild turkey and deer than any man.
[Didn't boast much, did they? JES]

By this time about all I had left was the/best/ wife in the world and 5 of the best children any man ever raised, or at least I thought.
Dec. of 1937 my boys with me to help a little bought my old home place that was a grant to my Great Great Grandparents. In Jan. 1937 me and my son Curtis moved to the place and took over.
We soon had bought some more adjoining land and in it was the old mill site that I had lived on.

One of the first things we did was to rebuild the old pond. With about 200 acres it(the pond) furnishes abundant fine fish. There was about 650 acres of cultivated land on the place. We soon had the land in a high state of cultivation. Me and my son Curtis has managed the farm for the last 21 years, mostly Curtis. He is the only man I thought could farm and fatten a [stear] as good as I could.
We planted some cotton and peanuts, some tobacco, but mostly corn and other grain.
We catered to livestock mostly for a money crop.
We have fed out from 100 to 300 [stears]every year for a long time.

In 1946 my wife became ill. She lost her eyesight and later had a fall and never walked again.
She was an invalid for 5 years. She passed away Dec. 23, 1951 at the age of 78 years.
Since then I have lived a lonesome life but have been as well as anyone could expect under the circumstances. I got my niece to live with me and she has done everything she could to make me comfortable and is still with me.

The children are all living and in good health. They are real good to me. This writing is being done Aug. 8, 1958. I will be [81] on Sept 21 this year. I don’t feel like I have been much trouble to anybody as I have been active up to this time.
I am not well now and probably never will be again but I have lived out my allotted time and 10 years borrowed time. I thank God for everything. I was born Sept. 21, 1877, was converted 1887 at the Tattnall Camp Ground under the preaching of [scribbled Bishop] Anthony.
I joined the Methodist Church and tried to be a Christian gentle-man ever since.
I thank God for everything and am still happy over everything.
If the Lord sees fit to let me live a year or two longer I will try to use it for His Kingdom.
English snake 2.jpg
So I said I would elaborate some on my Uncle James Bell Smith, the absolute youngest of Daniel Harrison Smith's children.
image.png

To summarize, he was an attractive 'go getter' of a man, our family was really rather influential in those days.
He got a job at a local back, and through some shady deals, got himself almost the top guy, then his deals came back to haunt him.
He was convicted and sentence to prison.
In those days, your family could pay a price to get you out of prison. He was aghast that none of my family would 'stand for him'.
Finally he did get out, moved to California, changed his name to Stuart Anthony, and became rather well known as a screenwriter.
Story 1.jpg

Story 2.jpg

Story 3.jpg
Stuart Anthony
Writer (54 credits)
1941 The Shepherd of the Hills (screenplay)starring John Wayne
1941 The Monster and the Girl (story and screenplay)
1941 Along the Rio Grande (story)
1940 The Ranger and the Lady (screenplay)
1940 The Biscuit Eater (screen play)
1939 Saga of Death Valley (screenplay)
1938 Tom Sawyer, Detective (screenplay)
1938 Illegal Traffic (original story) / (screenplay)
1938 Spawn of the North (uncredited)
1938 Highway Patrol (screenplay)
1938 Prison Farm (screenplay)
1938 Tip-Off Girls (original screenplay)
1937 Born to the West (screenplay)
1937 Thunder Trail (screenplay)
1937 Forlorn River (screenplay)
1936 Arizona Mahoney (screenplay)
1936 Ramona (contributing writer - uncredited)
1936 Girl of the Ozarks
1936 Border Flight (screenplay)
1936 Burning Gold (original story)
1936 Desert Gold (screenplay)
1936 Drift Fence (screenplay)
1935 Nevada (screenplay)
1935 Wanderer of the Wasteland (screenplay)
1935 Border Brigands (original story and screenplay)
1935 Motive for Revenge
1935 Mutiny Ahead (screenplay)
1935 Charlie Chan in Paris (screen play)
1934 Nada más que una mujer (screenplay - uncredited)
1934 Charlie Chan in London (additional dialogue - uncredited)
1934 Happy Landing (story)
1934 Un capitan de Cosacos (story - uncredited)
1934 Pursued
1934 Ever Since Eve (screenplay)
1934 The Fighting Ranger (original story)
1934 Frontier Marshal (screenplay)
1933 Smoky (adaptation)
1933 The Last Trail (adaptation)
1933 Life in the Raw (adaptation)
1933 The Whirlwind (adaptation)
1933 Love Is Dangerous (adaptation and dialogue)
1933 Silent Men (adaptation)
1933 State Trooper (screenplay)
1932 End of the Trail (screen play)
1932 The Vanishing Frontier (original story) / (screenplay)
1932 Strangers of the Evening (adaptation and dialogue)
1932 Lena Rivers (adaptation and dialogue)
1932 Whistlin' Dan (story and scenario)
1932 Police Court (scenario) / (story)
1931 Border Law (adaptation and dialogue) / (story)
1931 The Fighting Sheriff (adaptation) / (story)
1931 Desert Vengeance (adaptation and dialogue) / (story)
1928 The Floating College (screenplay) / (story)
1928 Stool Pigeon (adaptation) / (screenplay)
Stuart Anthony
Biography
Stuart Anthony was born on April 10, 1890 in Tattnall County, Georgia. His birth name was James Bell Smith III.
His parents were Daniel Harrison Smith and Julia Rogers.
His Great Great Grandfather, Simon Smith, was a sergeant in Lt. Col. Elijah Clark’s battalion of Minutemen during the Revolutionary war.
James, (Jim B.), changed his name to Stuart Anthony and left his family home in his 30’s to find his fame and fortune in movies.
Active in films from 1931, American screenwriter Stuart Anthony started off writing formula westerns, including several of Paramount's Zane Grey "B" series.
One of Anthony's rare contemporary efforts was Fox's Charlie Chan in Paris (1935). Back with the Paramount "B" unit in 1938, he wrote or co-wrote such above-average programmers as Tip Off Girls (1938) Prison Farm (1938), and, best of all, The Monster and the Girl (1941), which managed to successfully combine a traditional horror yarn with a "white slavery" plotline. One of his few "A" efforts under the Paramount banner was Shepherd of the Hills 1941, John Wayne's Technicolor debut.
Stuart Anthony returned to westerns in the 1940s: his last known credit (which went un-credited on screen) was RKO's Nevada (1944), based on a Zane Grey novel he'd previously adapted for the screen in 1936. ~ Hal Erickson

Family History

compiled today, July 11, 2020
by
Jerry E Smith
I think my friend @janton will like this history, and it is just that. my family history

These .gifs were created for me by @coquiunlimited; many thanks



cyktlq.png

Sort:  

My gg grandfather was in Co B, Ga 117th Vol Rgt. Was with Lee at appomattox. Got shipped to Savannah and it took him six months to walk back to americus.

I love hearing about all this history.

I've got quite a few little stories and tidbits Jay, in fact my mama wrote out HER life story from her POV, typed on lined notebook paper and stuck into her bible.
She forgot it was there, but when I found it, she gave me permission to use it.

I made a 'serial post' of it, on steemit, later reposted in Weku.
I still have the links to the steemit posts, but I can't repost them in hive.
I suppose if you were interested, I could send you the links @uthus2k

I'd like that. Thanks

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!