When Corona Ends - @TheyCallMeDan's #WhenCoronaEnds Initiative - My Three Things

in GEMS4 years ago (edited)

First, I want to say that you could list me in the pessimistic camp, because I honestly don't think this will be over anytime soon. If it is, great! But, if not, I am ready for an extended "social hibernation".

I've been procrastinating for more than a year now with making some serious changes in my life. The last few years really took their toll on me, both financially and personally. I planned to make some drastic changes, but the plan did not seem to turn into a firm decision. There was always something conveniently posing as an obstacle.

And Then Covid-19 Came-A-Knockin'

I live in Zagreb, Croatia and for weeks now we have been under lockdown. Coffee shops, bars and restaurants are closed, there are massive lines at grocery shops and virtually all non-essential businesses have been shut down.

And then there was the earthquake.

A 5.3 magnitude earthquake struck Zagreb two weeks ago, just a day after the lockdown was initiated, actually sending people out into the streets, just when they were supposed to self-isolate and avoid contact.

All this drama and turmoil has forced me to actually get shit done and I am, strangely, thankful to be able to turn some lemons into lemonade.

My Quarantine Plan

I have shifted my priorities and decided to make the most of my lockdown time. Just like Joseph Campbell during the Great Depression, I will self-isolate and focus on building my business. So it's a lot of writing, reading and website building in my immediate future.

And, I plan on accumulating as much Hive as I can, and participating full-on here on the blockchain.

What will I do #WhenCoronaEnds?

Me-at-friends-house-after-quarantine-Remember-me-meme-1728.png

The First Thing I'll Do Is Buy A Bicycle

Ever since I moved to Zagreb, I haven't had a bicycle and I've mostly used public transportation, sometimes a car, to get around. Since this pandemic thing started, I have been feeling a new appreciation for walking and cycling, things I had been taking for granted for a long time.

As soon as the quarantine is lifted, Joe is buying himself a bike:-)

The Second Thing I'll Do Is Start Going To The Gym Again

I have been going to the local gym four times per week since September and Covid-19 really threw a wrench in my weightlifting and exercise time. The second major thing I'll do is start going to the gym again. I miss the feeling of working out and the most I can do now is some basic stuff (I live with two other family members and things get pretty crowded in our apartment).

The Third Thing I'll Do Is Go On A Road Trip

Pre-Corona I made a plan with my friends to go on a Balkans road trip (Croatia, Serbia, Montenegro, Bosnia & Herzegovina). We were set to go on March 15th, but that obviously didn't materialize, so as soon as we get an all clear, we're going, baby!!!

The plan is to take two cars, and visit at least 15 locations and 8 cities in two and a half weeks.

Fingers crossed we do it in June or July.

So, these are my three major post-Covid-19 bucket list items.

Check out @TheyCallMeDan 's post and let us know what you will do #WhenCoronaEnds!

All the best,

Joe